Pushing More 50s

What have I done? I’m thinking the answer is “too much” as I learn a few things about myself getting a little older. But we’ll put that aside for now.

Today was workout #4 in a row for me this week. That’s unusual. Usually I try to do two on, one off, or one on-one off. Four in a row may be a bit much. Yesterday’s Fran just about killed me. I didn’t feel back to “normal” until a few hours afterwards with some ibuprofen and a 30 minute “nap”.

1tjdmu

So what did today hold? Like Monday, this was another of the 50s. And it was Joe and I facing it under the watchful eye of Coach Bill today. Was good to see Bill — he’s been busy of late, so was good to have him back. I like the variety of coaching we have at Continuum and we’ve had a good mix in recent weeks with Drea, Larry, and Bill picking up the morning and noon classes.

We started with a 1000m row. Bill gave us a 5 minute max on this one, but I decided I’d try and use my more efficient rowing approach to see how I’d do at speed. Turned out I finished 1000m in just under 4 minutes, which was awesome. And Joe wasn’t far behind me.

cf467a66561ac32ffcdb987f818704bf--tabata-quotes-tabata-humor

From there we did some tabatas involving wall balls, push-ups, and sit-ups.

  • 4 rounds of 20 seconds of wall balls and 10 seconds of holding a front squat with the medicine ball at the bottom
  • then 4 rounds of 20 seconds of push-ups, 10 second transition, and 20 seconds of sit-ups

I have to say I struggled more than a little with all of the tabata. My lats, quads, shoulders, and just about everything else was unhappy with me. I honestly wasn’t sure how much of some of the movements today I was going to be able to do and planned to scale in a few places.

1tjdsfThe workout itself was another set of 50s… for time:

  • 50 jumping alternating lunges, 50 steps
  • 50 pull-ups
  • 50 push presses, 95/65 lb.
  • 50 hip extensions
  • 50 burpees

For me, this became:

  • 50 walking lunges (scaled)
  • 50 jumping or regular pull-ups (scaled)
  • 50 push presses, 95/65 lb.
  • 50 hip extensions
  • 50 burpees

Joe did a round of all movements (walking lunges and jumping/regular pull-ups) and did the 40s variation (level 2).

This one was rough. My body was really telling me off in a few places. The walking lunges were rough, but not terrible. The push presses were ok. The hip extensions were ok. But the pull-ups and burpees… ugh.

I originally set out to do three sets – 20/20/10 – but after doing the first set of 20, I decided I’d just suffer through a set of 30 to be done. My pull-ups started as jumping but I did about 15 kipping pull-ups in the round of 30 so tried to mix it up a bit. The burpees were a slog. 5 at a time.

tired-just-tired

Joe no-repped me at one point, jokingly, but he was right. My burpees are not legit burpees. I don’t raise my arms over my head. I do jump, but find that the whole full extension thing doesn’t do me any favors. Throwing my arms over my head for no good reason is a good way to not only make me slow way the heck down but also really want to stop… a lot.

Ultimately I was happy with the results. Took me 22:51. We had a 30 minute time cap and I was closer to 20 than 30, which was good. šŸ™‚

Considering how sore I was when i went in today, I’ll take it. Now I’m done for a bit.

Great work Joe! And thanks Bill (and Joe & Logan) for the encouragement. šŸ™‚ Hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

