Pressing My Luck

Though my wife and youngest made it in this morning, work got in my way of an earlier class. So I made it in for a Noon class… Coach Drea had me, Patti, and Carmen.

We started with a 4 round warm-up:

  • 10 calorie row/bike (I rowed)
  • 10 push press with an empty barbell
  • 10 good mornings with an empty barbell

It was a good chance to work on my form, trying to keep my elbows tucked when I pull all the way back to below my chest. I think I managed 10 calories in 28-35 seconds across the 4 rounds.

From there we warmed up for the strength part of the day: bench press. This is a movement we don’t do a whole heck of a lot, but can be fun. We were supposed to start with 80% of our 1RM. With some quick math, 80% of 230# was 184# so I shot to start at 185#.

20170720_131552The warm-up was good:

  • 45# (empty bar) x10
  • 95# x8
  • 135# x5
  • 155# x5
  • 165# x4

And then the actual 5 rounds of 3 reps each:

  • 185# x3
  • 195# x3
  • 205# x3
  • 215# x1 (uuuugly) (93% of 1RM)
  • 210# x3 (first 2 were ok, last one was ugly) (91% of 1RM)

I didn’t even get close to my 1RM. But I was curious when I got home to see how much it all added up to. 5920#. Nearly 6,000 pounds in the first half of the workout. I think I’ll take that. 🙂

And a big thanks to Drea who spotted me. 215# was ugly and I was glad she helped me get it back on the rack!

When all of that was done, we moved over to the GHD machine.

new-ghd-header2

This thing and I have never really been on the best of terms. 🙂

Today we worked on a new movement which proved just how little mobility I have in my lower back. Hip-Back Extensions. Essentially it’s like a Back Extension, but there’s less Hip involved and you try to roll your neck and back over and then roll your back and neck back up.

We were supposed to do 50 of these and then 15 wall balls any time we got off the machine. I think I did 20 and 45 wall balls with a 20# ball. I did do one set of 15 wall balls unbroken, so that was good. But the actual extensions were rough. It’s as though Scorpion pose from Yoga and a Back Extension had a mutant baby. 🙂

And we were definitely running out of time when we started these things. Carmen had to head off to class and it was just me and Patti going back and forth. She made the extensions look much better than I did, but even she quit after 25. 🙂

That was it for the day. 🙂 Looks like I’ll make it in for the Saturday workout — and then will miss the next couple of Saturdays due to soccer tournaments. But we’ll still get in for our regular few days a week!

Hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

