Team WOD Saturday

Today’s Saturday, so it must be time for a team WOD!

My wife was working this morning and the girls were off housesitting, so it was just me representing the Fitzpatrick clan at CrossFit Continuum. But I wasn’t alone. ๐Ÿ™‚ Our good friend Robert pinged me this morning to see if I was going and the two of us took on today’s challenge together.ย It was a good mix of folks new and old led by Coach Alex. Stacy, Deana, Monica, Bri, Brent, and a bunch of other folks.

7TaonKRbcWe started with a little 4 round warm-up:

  • 10 2 sec. Pause Air Squats
  • 10 Sit Ups
  • 10 PVC Push Jerk
  • 200m Run

Robert and I caught up a bit while we worked through the warm-up, so it must not have been too bad. ๐Ÿ™‚ I only get to work out with him every now and then, so it was a good chance to touch base.

Once that was done, we tackled the workout itself. It started with a 20 minute AMRAP:

  • 25 medicine ball sit-up & toss overs (partners on either side of a 24″ box. catch the ball. do a sit-up. toss the ball over the top. 5 tosses=1 rep, which meant 125 sit-ups total)
  • 20 partner-over burpees (partner holds a plank….no plank=no rep)
  • 15 partner medicine ball squats (med ball at your back….5 burpee penalty if ball falls)
  • 10 partner deadlifts @ 65% of total body weight

rogue-black-med-ball-web6_1We used a 20# ball and did 245# for the deadlifts. (230# + 165# = 295#, 65% of that is 256# so we were a little light, but hey). And I asked if it was ok to “step over” my partner instead of jumping over and Alex said that was ok, so we were off to the races.

We finished the first round in about 9:30, so we managed to get through two full rounds plus about 30+ med-ball sit-ups of the 3rd round. We’ll take it — and I expect I’ll feel my abs in the next couple of days.

jerks-3

When that was done, we had a 5 minute break and then started trying to find a 1 rep clean & jerk max. We did the following weights:

  • 95#
  • 115#
  • 135#
  • 155#
  • 175#
  • 185#
  • 195#

We both managed to do 185# and I managed to clean 195# but clocked myself in the chin with it and couldn’t push it over my head. Considering that my 1RM clean is 195# (and it was an UGLY clean with a capital UGH), I’ll take it. ๐Ÿ™‚

(Side note: Turns out 185# is a 10# increase in my Clean & Jerk PR, so I’ll take that too.)

So it was a a good workout. And fun working with Robert and the gang.

Thanks Alex! And hope everybody has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

