Today is a Two Post Day, Post #2

After the competition for Reagan this past Saturday, I have to admit that yesterday (Sunday) I was a bump on a log and hardly moved. 🙂

7ddab0239cdee568d2b75c5c092c03e1Today however I knew I needed to get back to the box to try and work out some of the kinks. My biceps and quads were both really sore after all of Saturday’s work, so I had to do something!

Made it in for the 8:30 class with Coach Larry today! We were joined by Brent, Jonathan & Sarah (back from vacation), and Melissa. So a smaller class, but a great group of folks as always!

We started with a bit of foam roller work, did a “gentle” 400m jog, and then came back in to do three rounds of:

  • 10 med ball cleans (20/14#)
  • 10 push-ups
  • 10 sit-ups
  • 30 second handstand hold

That was definitely a slow warm-up for me. Everything was a bit cranky. Larry pointed out my hand position on the med ball cleans was a bit high (should be more under the ball than to the sides) so that’s something I’ll have to work on.

rogue-black-med-ball-web6_1Once that was done, we gathered our equipment and found space on the rig for the workout:

  • (Rx) 5 rounds for time of (level II drops it to 4 rounds):
  • 25 wall-ball shots, 20/14-lb. ball
  • 30 pull-ups

I scaled this one. Pull-ups were not going to happen. 🙂

So instead of the Level I version:

  • 3 rounds for time of:
  • 20 wall-ball shots, 14/10-lb
  • 20 banded pull-ups

I scaled this one to:

  • 5 rounds for time of:
  • 20 wall-balls with a 14# medicine ball
  • 20 ring rows

b742e33b69b654adda63103b0732138b89c5e4886b3cc3e0a4d8e6763fc18bdfAnd it was still a spicy thing. I would have liked to have quit about round 3. 🙂

Made it through all 5 rounds in 13:46. I’ll take it. I’m still alive.

Did a little work with a band on the rig to stretch out my arms afterwards, but otherwise just packed up and headed home.

Thanks Larry and great work 8:30 class!

Leave a Reply

