Thursday WOD and Catch-up

This week has been a little crazy, so let me catch you up. Apologies because this one is going to get a bit long. 🙂

July 4th WOD

Monday was a normal workout. Tuesday… not so much. This was a holiday WOD and a Hero WOD to boot. We headed in as a family for the 10am workout and did Operation Red Wing.

The rep scheme for Operation Red Wing was created to represent the following:

  • 4 rounds represent the four man reconnaissance team
  • 3 Barbell Complex represents the 3 Navy SEALs killed from the team (Murphy, Deitz, Axelson)
  • 8 Barbell Burpees represents the 8 Navy SEALs killed in the helicopter crash (Jacques Fontan, Daniel Healy, Erik Kristensen, Jeffery Lucas, Michael McGreevy Jr., James Suh, Jeffrey Taylor, Shane Patton)
  • 8 Thrusters represents the 8 160th Army SOAR members killed in the helicopter crash (Shamus Goare, Corey Goodnature, Kip Jacoby, Marcus Muralles, James Ponder III, Stephen Reich, Michael Russell, Chris Scherkenbach)

RedWingsHeliRescueTeam53982

Ev worked with Danielle & Halley. I worked with Mickey & AJ. And we had a wide array of partners and trios doing this thing with us. It was awesome.

The workout boiled down to 4 rounds for time with each round being:

  • 3 Barbell Complex (115/80#)
  • 800m Run
  • 8 Barbell Burpees (115/80#)
  • 800m Run
  • 8 Thrusters (115/80#)
  • 800m Run

Each barbell complex in Operation Red Wing consists of:

  • High Hang Clean
  • Hang Clean
  • Clean
  • Push Press
  • High Hang Clean
  • Hang Clean
  • Clean
  • Push Jerk
  • High Hang Clean
  • Hang Clean
  • Clean
  • Split Jerk

The girls and I scaled a bit. We broke it up so that each of us was responsible for four of the 800m runs. They worked with a 35# barbell and I worked with a 75# barbell. Yes, it was a bit lighter than I might have done. But I decided it was better for me to keep moving than to just let the bar sit there as I stared at it contemplating why I wasn’t picking it up.

(Thank you Larry & Megan for the pictures from the workout!)

It took us about 80 minutes to get through the whole thing. And we completed about 12 rounds of the barbell complex, burpees, thrusters trio all together. We were dividing and conquering it — two of us would be at the barbells while one was running. So we would alternate — one would do a barbell complex, then the other, then back again; one would do 4 burpees and then the other; one would do 4 thrusters and then the other.

It worked out pretty well, but we were all definitely wiped by the end.

I did run a little in the first 800 — maybe 500m. But I walked the next three. Even so, I never stopped moving so I was happy with that. The girls ran and did amazingly well — as did Ev, Danielle, Halley, and the rest of the gang. We were the last two teams to finish, but we finished — and that’s what mattered.

Today’s WOD

Yesterday was a good rest day and today was a bit of a kinder, gentler WOD (though it still kicked my butt in spots). My family went in for an 8:30 class, but due to some meetings at work I couldn’t get in until noon. That was fine, it was just me and Coach Drea.

Started with a little warm-up:

  • 15 dumbbell push presses (25#)
  • 1000m row
  • 15 dumbbell push presses (25#)
  • then about 4 minutes of couch stretch on the wall

When all that was done, we dove into the Tabata for the day…

  • Tabata squats holding a 45/25-lb. plate

526f54f2f2e9f1d7ecd97c2a52f604f7--crossfit-gym-crossfit-motivationIf you’ve forgotten what a Tabata is… it’s 20 seconds of work and 10 seconds of rest for 8 rounds. Your score is the lowest number of reps you completed during the series of rounds. For example, if you did 10 reps in the first round and 1 rep in the 8th round, your score is a 1. Consistency is king.

I did this one Rx with a 45# plate and did pretty well until about the 5th round. I managed 10 or 11 reps in each round and my quads were starting to burn by that point. I dipped to 9 reps in the 7th round and barely stayed there for the 8th.

So my score was 9. I’ll take it. 🙂

And then we did weighted ring dips. I’m ok at them for a while, but when they go, they go. But I’ve never really played much with the weighted belt. Essentially it’s a belt with a dangling chain. You strap it on and then run the chain through whatever weight plates you want. A wee bit awkward, but ok. So how’d it go?

ring-dip

We were supposed to do 4 rounds of 3 reps with increasing weight.

  • Warmed up with no weight. x3
  • 10# x3
  • 15# x3
  • 25# x3
  • 35# x3

It was tough, but doable. So I was happy with that as well.

At the end we did a romwod and called it a day.

Of course, the whole time Drea and I had a lovely chat. So it was a very low key workout. I like those. 🙂

Thanks Drea!

Leave a Reply

