Monday Night Nose Smashing

Though today didn’t quite work out the way I planned, we ended up at another evening workout at CrossFit Continuum. Why, you ask? Because Isaac was teaching? Because it worked out schedule-wise? Because we wanted to shake things up again this week? No, because my daughters wanted to see Coach Clare’s bulldog Penny.

1rke2oYup. They may have me wrapped around their little fingers.

At any rate, we made it in for the 5:45 class tonight with Coach Isaac. 🙂 The girls decided to get in some running instead of the workout itself (and did about 3 miles or so, I heard, plus some warm-ups), so it was me, Jeremy, Jamal, Tim, and Charlton tonight.

We started with a little 3 round warm-up:

  • 1 minute of double-unders or single-unders
  • 15 thrusters with a PVC pipe
  • 1 minute of inchworms, focusing on the hamstring stretch portion

I have to say, I was already sweating a bit by the end of that 3 rounds, so I think I was warm. 🙂

When that was done, we grabbed some equipment: a box and a med ball each, with space on the rig, plus getting the rowers ready.

20170626_182657Our workout?

  • 5 rounds (or 3 rounds for Level I) for reps of:
  • 1 minute of box jumps, 24/20″ box (Rx/Level 2), or 20/16″ (Level I)
  • 1 minute of wall-ball shots, 20/14# ball (Rx/Level 2) or 14/10# (Level 1)
  • 1 minute of rowing (calories)
  • Rest 1 minute

We broke up the workout a bit because there were five of us. 3 of us started with wall balls and 2 of us started with box jumps/step-ups. That way we didn’t collide at the rowers.

We were off and running in the first round when I had something happen that I don’t remember ever happening before… The med ball smashed me in the face. In 4 years, I don’t remember having that happen. I’ve dropped it, missed it, and even had it hit the side of my head — but never smack on the nose. Oops.

Other than that, I was pretty consistent, all things being unequal (Wall balls, Rowing, Step-ups):

  • 16, 6, 16 (38)
  • 18, 10, 14 (42)
  • 20, 8, 15 (43)
  • 18, 7, 13 (38)
  • 17, 7, 15 (39)
  • Total = 200

Not too bad. And other than catching a med ball in the face, I kept moving pretty well.

When we were done and cleaned up all our equipment, we did some stretching and called it good so the Advanced Class could get going.

And yes, the girls got to see Penny. 🙂

Thanks Isaac for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

