Back squats, headstands, and broad jumps, oh my

Last night I took a wall ball to the face. Today, I was right back at it in less than 24 hours. I’m either dedicated or insane, so which is it?

Today I headed in for a noon workout with the girls. Ev has been working a lot lately so she hasn’t had much of a chance to join us. And with everything going on this week (long story), we won’t get much of a chance to see her until her work schedule slows down some. But it turned out that it was just me and the girls with Coach Drea at Noon, so it was a good chance for me to work out with my daughters.

b04c6ed2970ac4c861a63625f42d9532We started out with a quick little warm-up:

  • 500m row
  • 30 good mornings (PVC pipe, banded, or empty barbell)
  • 500m row

And then we headed to the rack to warm-up our back squats. Our workout was 5 sets of 5 back squats starting around 70% of our 1RM. Mine is 315#. 70% of that is a bit more than 220#, so I warmed up to 225#.

  • 45# (empty barbell) x5
  • (warm-up starts)
  • 95# x5
  • 135# x5
  • 185# x5
  • (warm-up ends)
  • 225# x5
  • 235# x5
  • 245# x5
  • 255# x5
  • 255# x3 (knees were starting to hurt a bit)

The girls got up to 105# out of a 1RM of 135#.

illustrated-squatAnd when that was done, we did a couple rounds of skill work:

  • 50′ broad jump in as few jumps as possible
  • 3  really slow pull-ups (strict)
  • 3 slow push to handstand or headstand to spread leg lowers

I’m not a jumper. And strict pull-ups are kind of rough. But the headstand down to the floor was kind of fun. 🙂

As per usual, it was fun to work out with the girls and Drea does a great job with them.

So now I’m off to ice my knees a bit and give my body a rest day tomorrow so we can try and hit it again on Thursday.

Thanks Drea! Now I’m ready for a nap!

Leave a Reply

