Assault Bike Madness

Saturday team workouts are always interesting. Whether programmed by Coach Isaac, Coach Clare, Coach Stacy, or any of the other folks, we usually end up with some gnarly combinations that test our fitness. And isn’t that what this whole crossfit thing is about?

Today I went in with AJ for Coach Clare’s brand of madness. 🙂 We were joined by Shaun & Stacy, Larry, Jamal, Jeremy, Carrie, Lisa, Deana, Monica, and a couple of other folks. Started with a 400m jog and came back in for some hip/leg and shoulder warm-ups before dividing up into teams of 3 or more.

time-371226_640The workout was for total time:

  • Teams of 3
  • Buy-in: 100 cal bike w/ weight overhead (plate or med ball)
  • 3 rounds for time with 1 person in a dead hang from the rig while the rest of the team was doing the movements (usually 1 working, 1 resting, 1 hanging, but it varied as you’ll see)
  • 90 double-unders (double for singles)
  • 60 pistols alternating
  • 30 hang power clean (115/85#)
  • Cash out – 100 weighted sit ups, 3 push ups on the minute until finished

We had four guys, including myself, when we started. So it was Larry, Jamal, Shaun, and myself when we started getting equipment together. And Jeremy came in late, so he joined us.

As a team of 5, we ended up adding more reps across the board:

  • 150 calorie buy-in holding a 25# plate
  • 150 double-unders, divvied up as 30 per person (or 60 singles)
  • 100 pistols, divvied up about 20 per person (Jamal, Larry, and I did them to a 20″ box)
  • 60 hang power cleans @ 115#, divvied up at 12 each
  • And we left the buy-out at 100 weighted sit-ups (25# plate)

AJ worked with Stacy and Clare, Carrie worked with the new folks, and Deana, Lisa, and Monica worked together. We had 4 teams and 4 assault bikes – funny how that happens. 🙂

20170624_110613

 

Clare said the first part (on the assault bike) was inspired by Sam Dancer doing it with two dumbbells and I’m very glad we didn’t get that crazy. 🙂

I have to say that I was a little worried about doing calories on the bike with my arms overhead with a 25# plate. And it turned out that maybe that wasn’t unwarranted concern on my part. In my first turn, I dropped the weight and fell off the bike, pulling my left hamstring. It was not pretty.

While I waited for my turn to come back, I did some stretching to try and get the hamstring feeling OK again and it was sore, but not horrible, so I continued to do my bit on the bike as we rotated through our band of five. It took a bit to get up to the point where I was willing to push the plate overhead again, but I got there on my third or fourth round.

The rest of it was ok except for the cleans. I had to break up my last set of 12 into multiple sets of reps, but I eventually got through it.

The sit-ups took a while as well. I got through 33 reps in that first minute, but after that it dropped to about 15-20 per minute with the 3 push-ups at the top of each minute.

20170624_110606

Larry did a good job of keeping us on task. Jeremy and Shaun did great with the pistols. And I don’t think I slowed anybody down too much in the long run. We had enough people that we always tried to have two people working and two on the bar, with one resting. Not sure we quite managed that, but we had at least one person hanging at all times and that was fine.

Honestly it was a good workout except for my complete lack of dexterity on the bike that first round. We were done in under 33 minutes with the 5 of us, so we pushed pretty good through parts. Everybody kept on moving.

Thanks for a good (and challenging) workout, Clare!

Hope everybody has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

