Monday Evening Workout

I honestly don’t remember the last time I did a workout in the evening when it wasn’t a special event like the Friday Night Lights for the CrossFit Open or one of the Suicide Prevention cross-over workouts with CrossFit Pick It Up. So today was an anomaly. And now I remember why. 🙂

silly-walkMickey and I went in about 5:30. They had finished the 4:30 class already and a few folks were warming up. Coach Isaac was ready to go at 5:45. We had about 8 of us… Austin and Amber, Shannon, Jake, Curtis, Tim, and Ryan. Mickey was only there to get a ride later, so she just hid in a corner. 🙂

Started with some foam roller and banded mobility. The banded mobility was interesting. Isaac had us do something behind our back and I honestly couldn’t convince my body to figure it out until he turned me around. One more case of brain and body not listening well.

But when we warmed up with a 400m jog, since I hadn’t done much for a while, that actually felt ok. I was one of the first few back through the door. Definitely strange. Don’t worry, that feeling didn’t stay for long. 🙂

From there it was some barbell work as a refresher for both sumo deadlift high pulls and push press before we grabbed equipment, moved things around and got started.

The workout was pretty straightforward:

  • Score Type:: AMRAP
  • Rx/Level II
  • 5 rounds for reps of:
    • 1 minute of 75/55# sumo deadlift high pulls
    • 1 minute of 75/55# push presses
    • 1 minute of rowing (calories)
    • Rest 1 minute
  • Level 1 reduced it to 3 rounds and a 55/35# bar

push-press

We had enough folks that we staggered a bit. 4 of us started with the push presses. 4 of us started with the SDHP. And that meant we had enough rowers for everybody.

Remember when I said the run felt ok? Well, apparently that was because my squat was diddly tonight. My hips didn’t want to bend or get underneath anything tonight – SDHP or push press. And if it wasn’t my knees/hips giving me grief, my grip was giving up.

So how’d it go? Well, it definitely felt like a Monday.  I did it with the 75# bar.

  • Round 1 – 30 push press, 12 calories, 15 SDHP = 57
  • Round 2 – 20 push press, 10 calories, 10 SDHP = 40
  • Round 3 – 17 push press, 9 calories, 10 SDHP = 36
  • Round 4 – 17 push press, 6 calories, 10 SDHP = 33
  • Round 5 – 15 push press, 7 calories, 8 SDHP = 30
  • Total = 196

Other folks were kicking ass and I’m glad I wasn’t focusing on them. 🙂 But they all did great. Apparently we were supposed to shoot for 200-300, so I was pretty close. Several folks got close to the 300 mark, which is fantastic.

dfl-dnf-dns

I have to admit I was being a bit more of a smartass than usual, which was unusual for me. It might be a side effect of the pre-workout I took tonight. But I was really sucking wind by about round 3 of the workout, so if it worked — it didn’t work for me for long.

Hustle-1-120x149I think most of it was the heat. Just warmer in the evening than during the morning (no duh) and I was sweating like a pig even during the warm-up.

At any rate… I went, I finished, I came home. Not quite the same as conquering, but I’ll take it for a Monday.

Great work everybody and thanks Isaac (and Clare) for the encouragement to keep going!

Leave a Reply

