Karen Plus Box Jumps = Burn

Today I decided to heed my chiropractor’s advice (Thanks Caleb!) and tape up my knees before doing the workout. It turned out to be a very good idea.

Not sure why, but I’m running a little slower today than normal, but I made it to an 8:30 class with Coach Jimmy. We had a great crew today. Caleb, Todd, Jenny, Sarah, and I were ready to tackle the workout — or so we thought.

We started with a little three round warm-up:

  • 30 second row
  • 30 seconds of jumping jacks
  • 30 seconds of air squats (jumping air squats for the last round)
  • 30 seconds of inchworms

And then we did a long mobility routine that I think Jimmy really needs to write up or do a video for. I would love to use it as a regular warm-up even on my rest days. We went through quite a progression and I’m not sure I remember it all, but here’s an idea:

  • pose_pigeonPick a side and do it on each side for about 30 seconds per position
  • Kneel on the knee on that side and put your other leg behind you with your foot pointed so your toe is on the ground
  • Shift around on that knee so that you push out over the hip on the same side of the knee, then shift forward, left, and back. Move around and try to work the whole hip area (maybe a minute doing this)
  • Shift to a pigeon position and hang out there for a bit, shifting around
  • Shift to a scorpion position and hang out for a bit, shifting around
  • Position yourself over the shoulder on that side and straighten that arm, then use the other arm to stretch the elbow/shoulder (tough to describe this one – but it was a tough pose for me to hold)
  • Shift to a seated position and pull the leg towards your chest, attempting to bring your calf to your chin (one of the only ones I was actually flexible at)
  • Now repeat the sequence on the other side

rogue-black-med-ball-web6_1I actually found this to be a great stretching combination. It was uncomfortable, but later on I felt like it hit the major areas I was going to need for the workout. And when I was done with the workout and recovered a bit, I wasn’t walking like a duck. πŸ™‚

But the workout itself was going to be a doozy. We were pretty warm by that point, so we just grabbed our wall balls and did a few wall ball warm-ups to keep things moving…

  • 3 wall ball front squats
  • 3 push-press-style wall balls (wall ball but without a full squat)
  • 3 regular wall balls

Then we grabbed some plyo boxes for the box jumps and got ready to go.

20170523_094413The workout was:

  • 50-40-30-20-10 reps for time of:
  • Wall-balls, 20/14# medicine ball
  • Box jumps, 24/20″ box

Though I used a 20# ball, I only did 20″ step-ups. My knees were already bugging me by the time I finished the first 50 wall balls, so I didn’t want to torque them off any further.

It took me 26:41 to finish. Dead last. The 9:30 class was starting their warm-ups by the time I was done.

Apparently people were finishing in the 15-20 minute range earlier. Caleb finished in 14:59 with 20# wall balls and 24″ step-ups. Todd was right there with him. Not sure where Sarah & Jenny ended up exactly, but they were both done by the 20 minute mark.

The bad part was my knees — they were burning pretty much non-stop for the first two rounds. I would do 5 or 10 reps of something, walk around, let it subside, then go back and do another set. So it took a while. There was a bit of a convincing process — I had to convince myself that I wanted to finish the next set, which would get me closer to be done. And that seems to have worked.

The good part was that I taped both knees before I left the house, then added my knee sleeves on top of that, so they were pretty stable. Right now they don’t hurt. They’re a little wobbly, but not in pain. I’ll take it.

20170523_104058

Lesson learned: Listen to your chiropractor. πŸ™‚

Speaking of which, thanks for the encouragement on the last couple of sets. I appreciated it!

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

