Just in case your shoulders weren’t tired enough…

After taking a couple of days off earlier this week, I had two meetings I couldn’t escape this morning at work… so I had to wait for a Noon class to attend. Arrived in time to chat a bit with Coach Bill and then Coach Jimmy arrived to lead us. Kirsten and I were as ready as we were going to be I think. 🙂

Gymnastics-ringsWe started with a 3 round warm-up:

  • 250m row
  • 10 ring rows
  • 10 wall balls (20/14#)

Once that was done, we did some shoulder mobility work with a band before working with an empty barbell:

  • 5 strict press
  • 5 Sumo-deadlift high pulls (ish — just the standing part)
  • 5 push press

And from there we added weight and got ready for the workout.

push-press

  • For time:
  • 15 push presses
  • 5 rope ascents
  • 12 push presses
  • 4 rope ascents
  • 9 push presses
  • 3 rope ascents
  • 6 push presses
  • 2 rope ascents
  • 3 push presses
  • 1 rope ascent
  • (Use ¾ body weight for push presses)

This was a doozy. Especially after Tuesday’s shoulder press-palooza.

When I went in, I had every intention of trying 175# (which is 3/4 of my current bodyweight), but you know what they say about roads and good intentions…

  • Started with 135# off the bat, did 3 warm-ups
  • Then did 3 with 155# on the bar.
  • I felt like that sucked, so I should add more – but I fought the urge and decided to stay there.

climbing-rope-atje23--853-pSo when the clock started, here’s how it went:

  • 8 push press reps @ 155#, 7 reps @ 135#
  • 5 rope climbs from floor
  • 12  push press reps @ 135#
  • 4 rope climbs from floor
  • 9 push press reps @ 135# (by this point my left arm was struggling to straighten out)
  • 3 rope climbs from the floor
  • 6 push press reps @ 135# (ugly ones)
  • 2 rope climbs from the floor
  • 3 push press reps @ 135# (even more ugly)
  • 1 rope climb from the floor
  • Time: 16:14

Meanwhile, Kirsten was flying through the workout with a lighter weight on the bar but real rope climbs and finished in less than 9 minutes I think.

This was ugly. I got to the point a couple of times where I couldn’t hold the bar in a front rack when I cleaned it from the floor — simply because my left arm wasn’t holding close enough to make it work. A lot of it I think had to do with hand position on the bar. Too far in or out and I chicken winged to the point where it wasn’t strong enough.

But once again… I finished. It was ugly. And I think some of the reps probably shouldn’t have counted. But I finished.

Thanks Jimmy!

Leave a Reply

