Ah, push it

Somehow some Salt-n-Pepa lyrics fit today’s workout. The soundtrack we listened to was suitably 70s, 80s, and 90s in a weird mix, so I’m actually surprised we didn’t hear the song. 🙂

At any rate, there were a few of us who joined Coach Jimmy for the 8:30 class this morning… Myself, Nic, Jenny, and Sarah prepared to do a ton of overhead work to tax our shoulders.

arm-and-shoulderWe started with a 500m row, then some shoulder work to get everything moving. That included some painful mobility work with a lacrosse ball and our hands behind our back that was… interesting. Jimmy’s Torture Time was definitely in session. One of the more interesting parts was doing wall ball “shots” as a push press instead of a thruster, so no squat at the bottom. It really puts a lot more stress on the shoulders — especially when you try to hit a 10 foot target doing a strict shoulder press to get it there. (I was glad I was using a 14 pound ball. HA!)

Once we were good and warm, we grabbed an empty barbell to do a little skill refresher before adding weight and getting into it.

Today’s Metcon was:

  • 7 rounds for time
  • 21 strict shoulder presses (75/55#)
  • 21 good mornings (75/55#)

shoulders-military-pressNow, looking at it last night I suspected I might be ok for a couple of rounds before I had to switch over. HA! I got through 1 round Rx and then had to start scaling…

  • 21 strict press (75#)
  • 21 good mornings (75#)
  • 21 push press (75#)
  • 21 good mornings (75#)
  • 21 push press (75#)
  • 21 banded good mornings (green)
  • 21 push press/push jerks (75#)
  • 21 banded good mornings (green)
  • 21 push press/push jerks (75#)
  • 21 banded good mornings (green)
  • 21 push press/push jerks (75#)
  • 21 banded good mornings (green)
  • 21 push press/push jerks (75#)
  • 21 banded good mornings (green)

If you’re counting, that’s 147 shoulder presses or push presses. I was breaking it however I could — 14/7, 11/10, 7/7/7, 7/4/8… Sometimes I’d hold the bar. Sometimes I’d drop the bar. And I was laughing at myself as my left shoulder/bicep started getting more and more ticked off.

In the last three rounds, I got some amazing jerks going just to pop under it, but I felt more and more like the right arm was popping it up and the left arm was just struggling to get under it.

Had to switch to banded good mornings because my elbows and biceps were not getting any kind of break while hanging onto the bar, taxing those bits and the bits above them even more. It was a challenge and everybody got done way before me. I just kept chugging through a handful of reps at a time until I was done.

dfl-dnf-dns

I might have been dead last, but I finished. And I’ll take that today.

Great work 8:30! And then I watched Brent in the 9:30 class do it Rx+ with GHD extensions instead of Good Mornings and 75# on the bar — in about 12 minutes. Half my time. He rocked it.

Really everybody did. I was slow and steady and got it done. That’s what matters.

Thanks for the encouragement everybody! And great work!

Leave a Reply

