Hello Annie (Updated)

We haven’t done many benchmark workouts lately. And I don’t mind that, really. But when they pop into a given day it’s always interesting to take a look back and see how we did the last time.

johnny-automatic-Jumping-rope-800pxToday Coach Jimmy had his hands full with the lot of us… Ev & I, Brent, Nic, Carrie, Jenny, and Melissa. We started with:

  • 1 minute of single-unders
  • 1 minute of something else (more jumps)
  • 1 minute of double-under practice

Then we did 2 rounds of:

  • 10 push-ups
  • 10 hollow body rocks
  • 10 3-second Superman holds (I made a point of singing the Superman — Christopher Reeve/John Williams version — theme song)

superman

After that it was a series of steps to work on double-unders. Like most days, today was not a double-unders day for me though I did try. I need to work on my jumps. Need more height apparently. And it wasn’t my calves, but my ankles that were the limiting factor. Plus my knee (esp. the left one) was angry.

So maybe once my left knee is happier I’ll try working on the jumps. We’ll see. I’d like to figure out this double-unders thing eventually.

annieAfter all that, it was time to tackle Annie.

  • for time
  • 50-40-30-20-10
  • double-unders
  • sit-ups
  • (for level I, do double singles 100-80-60-40-20)

It’s been a while since Annie has shown up in a workout. Jimmy said we should shoot for 7 minutes or less. So I automatically doubled it to 15 minutes. πŸ™‚

Ev and I did the singles version, so we doubled the 50-40-30-20-10 each round for our single-unders, but kept the rest intact. Brent did GHD sit-ups and Jenny was doing inverted sit-ups. So there were a few overachievers. πŸ™‚

I had to look back a ways to find the last time we did Annie…

  • July 2016, it took me 11:10 (double singles)
  • September 2013 it took me 14:38 (not sure if it was normal singles or double singles)

Today it took 10:43. PR! Woot!

rockypr-300x213

My wife on the other hand blew my time out of the water and did the singles version in 8:08. She was flat out flying.

Great work 8:30 class! Thanks Jimmy for the encouragement – I’ll keep working on the jumps.

Update!

Forgot about the fun handstand skill work we had AFTER Annie.

This was a challenge. We did it a few weeks ago with another workout and it fried my wrists more than my shoulders, but it was still a challenge.

Today we did it three times around clockwise and three counterclockwise. I had more issues going counter than I thought I would.

Then we did wall walks, which were awful. That stressed knees, shoulders, and wrists, I think I got through three and we were supposed to do six.

And once that was done, Ev and I worked at the wall. I did 30 second handstand holds on the wall… maybe they were 20 seconds… maybe they were 25. But shoulder stability made that a bear. Ev kicked onto the wall from a headstand a couple of times and straight armed once. I helped her get her legs to the wall but she held really well.

I joked with Jimmy that I was almost sweating more from the skill work than I did during the workout. πŸ™‚

Ok… Now I’m done. Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

