Monday, that Old Chestnut

Last night as I looked at the workout for today, I was wondering how I would be able to do two parts of the workout and it ended up being the third that killed me. Good thing I’m not a fortune teller.

reading-the-wod-memeSo it’s Monday. Ev’s working. AJ’s at school. Mickey’s taking an AP test. But I made it in. And during the warm-up I was wondering what I got myself into. 🙂

Coach Bill had a fun group… Nic & Nichole, Jonathan, Shauna, Jenny, and Carrie. I think I was the negative Nellie this morning, which was entertaining.

We started with a group 400m run and then came back to do 3 rounds of:

  • 5 pull-ups
  • 10 dumbbell thrusters (5 each side, 35# for me)
  • 15 good mornings (empty 45# barbell)
  • 150m row

Pull-ups felt ok today. Row was ok. Good mornings were ok. Dumbbell thrusters felt fine on the right for a while and awful on the left, then awful on both. You know, the usual.

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-1The workout itself was one of the online qualifiers for the regional games (#4):

  • 2 rounds for time:
  • 10 deadlifts, 315/225# (225/155# Level II, 155/105# Level I)
  • 20 deficit handstand push-ups, 4.5-in. deficit (or just 20 HSPUs level II, or pike push-ups level I)
  • 30 front squats, 95/65# (75/55# LII, 45/35 LI)

The way my body was feeling (left knee is NOT happy), I decided Level II would be the way to go. 225# deadlifts (not touch and go) and regular HSPUs, but 95# front squats.

My deadlifts were straight legged the whole way. Bending the left knee… um… Yeah, it didn’t wanna. Bill called me out on it, but with only two sets of 10 it wasn’t worth it. Apparently I wasn’t the only one rounding my back.

My HSPUs were like Mickey’s HSPUs – more of shoulder dips where I’d break tension with my elbows, maybe brush the top of my head on a couple of abmats, and straighten back out again. Even kicking up on the wall took a few tries.

I got through the first round in under 8 minutes. And by the end of the second round, my shoulders were screaming bloody murder over those HSPUs to the point where I couldn’t hang on to a front racked bar. However, rather than just stop cold — I ended up doing 12 front squats and 18 air squats.

Time: 16:31. So a heavily modified Level II. I think everybody scaled to some level or another, though Jonathan did do 315# deadlifts.

Great work 8:30 class! Thanks Bill for the push!

Now it’s time for some ice…

Leave a Reply

