And I would do 500 reps, and I would do 500 more…

… just to be the team that’s falling down outside your crossfit door… (apologies to the Proclaimers!)

I may be a little loopy at the moment. Just a little.

assault-bikeToday’s team crossfit workout was brought to you by Coach Clare and involved a little bit of everything I think. The joys of the Filthy 50 times 2 with a partner. Once again, Jonathan was my partner for this lovely little workout and my wife and his wife teamed up to kick our collective asses. Go figure.

We weren’t alone either — there were easily 18-20 people milling about today.

Our warm-up? A fun competition between four teams with 4 or 5 people each. Clare set up four assault bikes facing one another with a line in the middle. A foam roller would be set on the line and the two athletes facing one another would try and blow the foam roller with the force of the fan on the assault bike, so the roller would stay on their opponent’s side of the line.

Not to brag or anything, but our team dominated. We went Five for Five (Jonathan, Me, Sarah, Michael, and AJ). It was fun. Supposedly the team would have to do 2 burpees for every bout they lost (bike for 20 seconds and see which side it ended up on).

Filthy_Fifty_After that we set up equipment for this lovely workout:

  • Score Type:: Total Time
  • Teams of 2 For time:
  • 100 Box jump (24/20)
  • 100 Jumping pull-ups
  • 100 Kettlebell swings (35/25)
  • 100 Walking Lunge steps
  • 100 Knees to elbows
  • 100 Push press (45/35)
  • 100 Back extensions
  • 100 Wall ball shots (20/14)
  • 100 Burpees
  • 100 Double unders

If it looks familiar, it’s because it’s 2x the Filthy Fifty (see right).

Jonathan and I pulled our stuff together and did:

  • Jonathan (24″ box jumps), me (20″ step ups)
  • Jumping pull-ups
  • 35# kettle bell swings
  • walking or in-place lunges
  • knees-to-elbows
  • Jonathan (45# push press), me (45# strict press)
  • good mornings with a 45# barbell
  • 20# wall balls
  • Jonathan (burpees), me (sit-ups)
  • 100 single unders each

finished-lastHonestly I was pretty fried after the good mornings. And it took us a bit under 44 minutes to complete all of that. 1000 reps. We either split the 100 for each movement or Jonathan did more than I did. Just depended on where I was at.

I felt bad about doing sit-ups instead of burpees, but honestly I didn’t think I was going to get off the floor if I went down. My shoulders were screaming. My knees were pissed. Even as it was, five rounds of 10 sit-ups each was a damn challenge.

But we finished. And scaling is not the enemy. It’s what happens when you realize your body doesn’t want to keep moving and decide to change things up so you CAN keep moving.

I don’t think we were last. But we were damn close. And I feel like hell afterwards. It’s awesome.

Jonathan, thanks for being my partner in the madness. You kicked butt. 🙂

And good work everybody who came! Thanks Clare for a good challenge!

Leave a Reply

