Push Me, Pull Me

Morning folks. I slept hard for a good 5 hours last night and woke up feeling a bit exhausted as a result. Don’t ask me how that works, but I definitely had multiple body parts (knees & ankles) that were popping and snapping at me as I moved around. It was fantastic.

After a meeting at work, it was time to head in for the 8:30 class with Ev. Thursdays are always a bit more entertaining when I get to work out with my wife. 🙂 We had Coach Bill today, plus Jonathan, Brent, Joe, Jenny, and Melissa. Caleb came in early to do some mobility work before the 9:30 class as well.

2013-01-29-a-TRex-Downward-Dog-1024x462
Kind of Felt like this doing mobility before and after the workout

We started with some foam rolling, which was good. And then we did a 3 round warm-up:

  • 200m run
  • 5 wall balls (20/14#)
  • 10 push-ups
  • 15 sit-ups

By the last 200m run, my body was complaining enough that I decided to turn it into a 100m, but the rest worked ok.

Then we went through some work with a PVC pipe:

  • pass-thrus
  • strict press
  • round-the-worlds
  • push press
  • elbow mobility
  • split jerks

Shoulder-Pass-Through

And then worked through a few movements with an empty barbell:

  • strict press
  • back squat
  • straight-leg deadlifts
  • push-press
  • front squats
  • push jerks

After that, we added some weight and did a few reps. I did:

  • 95# push press
  • and upped it to 115# push press

My issue however was C2B pull-ups. I had no pull today. Even my normal pull-ups were awful, but that’s what I scaled it down to. Regular kipping pull-ups.

The workout was:

  • 21-15-9 reps for time of:
  • Shoulder-to-overheads, 135/95# (or 115/75# or 95/55#)
  • Chest-to-bar pull-ups (banded or strict press or regular pull-ups)

push-press

How’d we do?

  • Evie finished in 8:31 with 75# and banded pull-ups
  • I finished in 12:04 with 115# and regular kipping pull-ups (11 & 10 reps, 6, 5, 5, 5 pull-ups, 5-5-5, and whatever sets I could do, then 9 reps and a mix of 3, 2, and 1 rep sets)

My shoulders were on fire. I had a tough time convincing my body to raise my arms over my head. Pushing was one thing, but pulling was completely different. Definitely a struggle and I was definitely the last person done.

But as we keep pointing out… DFL > DNF > DNS. So I’m good with that. And I need to set up an appointment with my good friend Caleb the Chiropractor to get some of my issues resolved. 🙂

dfl-dnf-dns

After all of that we did some mobility work and put our stuff away. To say that my shoulders were pissed off during that process would be an understatement, but I did what I could. And they’ve stopped burning since I got home, so that’s a good thing. 🙂

Great work 8:30 class! Impressive performances! Thanks Bill for the encouragement! And good luck 9:30 class!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

