Forearms of Rock

Today, I felt a bit like Popeye, forearms bulging. And I have to say it was a bit of a challenge to keep moving like that. 🙂

5200265-popeye-the-sailor-man
Popeye the Sailor Man

Let’s start at the beginning though. Today should be calmer than yesterday if all goes according to plan. Watched today’s keynote speech via streaming video from Boston this morning for work and then headed in for an 8:30 workout.

Coach Jimmy was there again, and we had another fun group — Jonathan, Elyse, Brent, Jenny, Andrea, Nic and Nichole. Plus we got to see Drea with new little Noah, so that was fun. He’s tiny and cute, just like he should be. 🙂

We began with a 500m row and then did a little three round number:

  • 20 seconds of wall balls (20/14# medicine ball)
  • 20 seconds of toy soldier marches (high kicks to stretch hammies)
  • 20 seconds of butt-kickers

Of all of it, the butt-kickers were the worst, funny enough. Nothing like a form of running to cause you some grief. 🙂

Dumbbell-Single-Arm-SnatchWe then talked about the workout:

  • 20 minute time cap
  • 100 dumbbell snatches (50/35# Rx, 35/25# Level II, 25/15# Level I)
  • 80-cal. row (Rx & Level II, 40 calories Level I)
  • 60 bar-facing burpees (Rx & Level II, 30 Level I)
  • 40 muscle-ups (Rx, 30 Level II, 20 Level I — muscle-ups or muscle-up transitions)

This is very similar to what we did for CrossFit Open workout 17.1 – and is the same as what the Regionals Qualifier workout #1 was this year. They had a 20 minute time cap as well. We had the option of going past the time cap today, but I don’t think anybody wanted to actually do that. 🙂

35pounddumbbellsI chose the Level II weight for the dumbbell (35#) because, as I told Brent afterwards, I don’t trust my left arm. Eventually with a 50# dumbbell I likely would knock myself in the head and end my workout with a concussion. As a result, I decided 35# was more in my wheelhouse today.

Broke those up a bit:

  • 25 reps
  • 15 reps
  • 6 sets of 10 reps

And I chugged my way through the row. Took me nearly 1500m of rowing to get through 80 calories.

ed6e01eb9b02eff8f86b3e7d4900a02eBut it was the burpees that killed me again, just like Saturday. By the time I got there, both forearms were rocks, so every time I went to the ground I was shoving my arms into the shoulder socket, hard. I attempted to slow it down by crawling down on one knee and up on one knee, but that was still damn slow.

I did five sets of five reps each, with far too long a break in-between, and then got one more rep in the last 30 seconds.

I felt pretty good about the dumbbell snatches and the row. But I knew I would be lucky if I got all the way to the muscle-up transitions. I just couldn’t keep going in the burpees. My brain was protecting my body. And I tend to listen when it does that. 🙂

I was sweating like a pig about 5 minutes into the workout and that continued until well after I left the box to head home. So I think I definitely got my work in today.

Thanks Jimmy and great work 8:30 class! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

