Snatch the Barbell Thrice

Yes, I was struggling for a title for the post today. 🙂 It’s going to be an insane day, but I won’t bore you with the details.

Made it in for an 8:30 workout with Coach Jimmy and a great class of folks – Jonathan, Brent, Larry, Shauna, Jenny, Nic & Nichole.

We started with a three round warm-up:

  • Row 250m
  • 10 strong kips on the rig
  • 10 med ball cleans (20/14#)

And once we were done with that, it was the Burgener warm-up all the way. First with a PVC pipe and then an unloaded barbell.

From there it was a few rounds of warm-up and then five sets of three squat snatches, working up the weight from 80% of our 1RM for snatches. Between the warm-up and the snatch sequence, my forearms and grip were already pretty fired up by the time we got to the workout itself.

20170501_093202I’m actually ok with snatches in general, but squat snatches (and squat cleans) — anything where there’s a combination of moving upward with the bar and then spinning under it — is where I start having issues. Whether it’s a lack of trust that my body will catch or I’ll get under it with enough speed, I don’t know. But we’re working on it.

So here’s how it went:

  • 75# x3 (warm-up)
  • 95# x3 (warm-up)
  • 95# x3 (stayed there for a second warm-up round)
  • 95# x3 (5×3, round 1)
  • 95# x3 (5×3, round 2)
  • 105# x3 (5×3, round 3)
  • 105# x3 (5×3, round 4)
  • 115# x3 (5×3, round 5)

You’ll notice that I stayed at 95# for a long time. I had a few reps where it was pretty much a muscle snatch and I forgot to drop underneath it entirely. And I fought my feet the whole time.

20170501_093153

Jimmy was very patient. We worked on foot placement and narrowing the starting position of my feet so they didn’t quite go out so wide. (You can see the two little horseshoes where my feet were supposed to start.) My left foot remains within a few inches of the left horseshoe, but my right is turned out and pointing at the rig more than 6 inches from the right horseshoe.

It was frustrating. Jimmy suggests that I work on doing more snatch balance work just to get comfortable with the foot placement. It’ll be a work in progress.

181snatchConsidering that my 1RM for a snatch is something like 145#, I don’t feel bad only getting to 115# today. Focusing on form will help me out far more than gritting out some bad reps at heavier weights.

Anyway, it was great working out with Jimmy as a coach again. It’s been quite a while since I’ve made it into any of his classes. And between Drea, Jimmy, Bill, Isaac, Larry, Stacy, and Clare (I haven’t had an opportunity to be in one of Alex’s classes yet), there’s an interesting mix of emphasis between each member of the coaching staff. I may hear a cue from Isaac that I don’t hear from Drea or something from Bill I don’t hear from Larry… etc.

There is a lot of overlap of course, but each one of them brings something different to the table. It’s probably something I need to look into over the summer — trying to hop around to some of the other trainers’ classes to get different coaching methods.

Anyway… Great work today everybody! And thanks Jimmy!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

