Isaac’s WOD of Death (aka Team WOD Saturday)

Though we had a Spring snowstorm cancel AJ’s soccer game today, we had a plethora of other options to choose from in Colorado Springs today:

And we decided to get our sweat on today with a Team WOD at CrossFit Continuum. Why? Because we’re all a little crazy and that’s where some of our friends would be. 🙂

I think, due to the snow and the plethora of activities going on around town, we had a smaller group of people attend today’s team WOD. Coach Isaac, Larry, and Brent were there when we arrived. Jonathan and Sarah, Robert, and Adi came in as well. So we had 9 athletes and 1 coach.

We started with a discussion of the WOD and then did a very brief warm-up – the PVC Game. (Below you can see another CrossFit box demonstrating…)

In Isaac’s version, if you dropped the PVC pipe, it was the people who dropped it and the people who handed it to them who had to do 4 burpees each. Not sure how good a warm-up it was, but it was fun! (I only had to do 4 burpees. 🙂 )

The workout itself was deceptively simple for teams of two (we had one team of three):

  • 20170429_10514027 minute AMRAP
  • For each movement, one team member would do the reps while the other waited in the “box.” When the first team member finished, they would tag the other to do the same movement.
  • Rep scheme was 10-9-8-7-6-5 — each athlete would do 10 reps of the movement, then 9, etc. When you finished 5 reps, shift to the next movement and repeat the rep scheme.
  • Essentially each athlete did 45 reps of each movement.
  • The movements were:
    • Wall balls (20/14# medicine ball)
    • Box jumps (24/20″ box)
    • Pull-ups
    • Burpees
    • Knees-to-elbows
  • If you finished the Knees-to-Elbows, start again on Wall balls

Jonathan and I teamed up. Sarah and Ev teamed up. AJ worked with Robert & Adi on the team of 3. And Larry & Brent worked together.

How’d it go?

  • 550_energizer-bunnyThe only thing I had to scale was the box jumps. I started with 20″ box jumps and shifted to step-ups to keep things moving. Jonathan did 24″ box jumps the whole time.
  • Wall balls actually felt pretty good.
  • Pull-ups, as always, slowed me down. I banged out the first 10 in two sets of 5 and started falling apart by the round of 8. Isaac tried to get me to really use the hip kip to get more momentum going — but I was feeling it my biceps and hamstrings pretty quickly. Though I appreciated the coaching, I’m not sure my technique improved any. 🙂
  • Burpees KILLED ME. I was already shot after all the pull-ups, but damn. Slowest, ugliest burpees on record.
  • And we barely had time to even get into the Knees-to-Elbows. I got in 10 reps before we ran out of time. I think if we had 30 minutes, we would have finished the K2E pretty easily. Another 3 minutes would have allowed us all the time we needed.

Jonathan did awesome — he just kept going like the Energizer Rabbit. I felt bad ’cause I slowed him down. But we did fine. Everybody was killing it. 🙂

Really a great workout that involved a little bit of everything, so great work Isaac! I was definitely sweaty and tired by the time we were done. 🙂

Great work everybody! I hope you all have a fantastic Saturday!

One thought on “Isaac’s WOD of Death (aka Team WOD Saturday)”

Leave a Reply

