Push, Pull, and Squat

It’s funny that as a casual crossfitter I’ve not considered that all of crossfit boils down to three main elements: pushing, pulling, and squatting. Why haven’t I seen that before?

Today I got a bit of work done and then headed in for an 8:30 class with Coach Bill. Bill’s been gone for a week or two, so it was good to see his grinning face today. I think he was ready to give us some grief. 🙂

We weren’t alone… It was Ev & I, Joe, Jenny, Larry, and Megan. A good core of folks to tackle today’s WOD.

Joe brought up a good point this morning for my motivation issue. He had a period where he’d been gone for a week with no crossfit and came back with a renewed sense of purpose (and less pain because his body had enjoyed more recovery time). That may be something I consider over the summer, but I have to say it’s a bit worrisome. I rely on the habit of going into the box like clockwork each week and I wonder if it will slip into oblivion when the habit is disrupted… Things hat make you go hmmmm….

cindyAt any rate, today’s class got started with a bit of mobility work, which was good. Foam rollers. Lacrosse balls. And then 2 minutes of couch stretch on the wall on each side.

Then it was a 500m row and three rounds of Cindy. Joe, Ev, Jenny, and Megan started on the rower and Larry and I started with Cindy.

Honestly, three rounds was pretty good to get things moving. That said, it fired up my biceps and forearms really quickly and made a 500m row quite a bit slower than normal (2:15). I was a little concerned about forearms and grip going into the next part.

2013-thrusters-combined

With an empty barbell, we did some thruster & sumo deadlift high pulls practice, and then dove into warming up to our weight for the workout:

  • For time:
  • 135/95# thrusters, 15 reps
  • 135/95# sumo deadlift high pulls, 21 reps
  • 135/95# thrusters, 12 reps
  • 135/95# sumo deadlift high pulls, 15 reps
  • 135/95# thrusters, 9 reps
  • 135/95# sumo deadlift high pulls, 9 reps
  • Level II – 115/75#, Level I, 95/55# (Guessing at these, but I think it’s what Bill said)

I had every intention of going with 115# but tried 95# and decided to stay there. Bill said our goal was 12 minutes or under and we should focus on doing the reps in as few a sets as possible. So instead of 3×5, do 1×8/1×7. Instead of 3×4, do 2×6, etc.

CF_Poster8-SDLHP-2000px_1130170f-2fa9-4dce-a6f3-4d5beaaeadb5

Ev did 75# and said even that was a pretty good challenge.

I finished in 11:42 and Ev finished in 11:46. I beat her, but not by much and probably only because I scaled as much as I did. 🙂

20170427_093138I went with this rep scheme:

  • 1×8, 1×7 thrusters
  • 3×7 SDHP
  • 2×6 thrusters
  • 3×5 SDHP
  • 1×5, 1×4 thrusters
  • 3×3 SDHP

My left shoulder was en fuego for that last couplet of thrusters and SDHP. And I’m pretty sure my last three SDHP were skewed “high right” as a result. But hey… I finished. I was gassed at the end, but I finished.

Even with 95# that was a challenging combination. I took more breaks than I should have, but still got done faster than I expected (predicted 15 mins, Bill said 10, and we were under 12).

Good for today. I’ll take it. 🙂

Have a great day, folks! Good luck 9:30 class! And thanks Bill for the push in those last 18 reps!!

20170427_093141

 

Leave a Reply

