Back Squats FTW

The struggle continues, but today was better. It was a strength day and I like back squats, so that was a win. 🙂

Arrived for an 8:30 class with Coach Drea. We had myself, Nic & Nichole, Carrie, and Tionne today. After all my posts, issues, and questions yesterday he strongly suggested doing some ROMWOD every day after a workout and I definitely need to do that. (And today he mentioned he’d been doing Third World Squat Practice at home while watching TV and that’s a good idea too. I sit too much and it may help my hamstrings, knees, and hip flexors get a bit stronger again.)

squat-practice
Third World Squat on the left

We started with one of Drea’s new run 100m/do some movements/run 100m/do more movements/run 400m/do more movements warm-ups…

  • running-fail100m run
  • hold a squat for 30 seconds
  • 10 jumping jacks
  • 100m run
  • 10 slow wall squats
  • 10 burpees
  • 400m run
  • 10 air squats
  • and something else

I was good until the burpees/running combination. The 400m run today was more of a saunter/stroll as my right calf knotted up. I ran the first 200, walked 100, and ran the last 100.

From there it was all back squats. We started with:

  • Empty bar x10
  • 165# x5
  • 195# x5
  • 225# x3
  • 235# x3 (body weight for me now)

illustrated-squat

And then we did 7 sets of 1 rep:

  • 245#
  • 265#
  • 285#
  • 305#
  • 315# (old 1RM set in January 2017)
  • 325# (not quite as deep as we want, but not bad and a new 10# PR)
  • 325# (fail with the weirdest bail from the bottom either. I got stuck in slo-mo)

rockypr-300x213I’ll take it. I also started using the purple belt of power (lifting belt) and can definitely understand why folks use lifting belts. It worked well as a physical cue to help keep my core tight.

Nic did awesome, hitting 355# I think he said. And Tionne hit 205# I think. So there were PRs to be had all over the place.

Great work 8:30 class!

And we’re still rooting for Noah’s impending arrival any day now for Drea and Jimmy — but the kid is just chillin’. Good luck Tapias!

Leave a Reply

