The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

Morning folks. We’ve made it to another Monday. Monday means it’s time to get back into the box, so that’s what I did. Well, after tossing and turning all night and sleeping in 30-45 minute increments from 10:30 to 5:30 this morning. Yay.

But that didn’t stop me from getting in for an 8:30 class with Coach Drea. And I wasn’t alone — we had Sarah, Todd, Joe, Nic, and Nichole as well. So a good little class. That said, I was struggling today from the 400m jog that kicked us off to the hard cutoff I gave myself at 9:30. Yup. Not my best performance ever.

garfield-mondayI even forgot to check in this morning. Ugh.

We started with a 400m jog, as I mentioned. I ran the whole thing and was gassed by the end. After that we did some bear crawls, medicine ball cleans (20#), and PVC pass-thrus, before shifting to some clean & jerk practice with a PVC pipe and an empty barbell.

When all that was done, we warmed up to our working weight for the workout…

  • 4 rounds for time
  • 225/155# clean & jerks, 4 reps (165/105# level II, 115/75# level I)
  • 6 bar muscle-ups (or progressions or chest to bars)
  • 40 ft. handstand walk (or 5 attempts or 40 foot bear crawl)

I ended up with:

  • 165# clean & jerks, 4 reps
  • 6 chest to bars
  • 4 times around a box “handstand walking” and then a couple of bear crawls

d1536458ad1019356097436adec0f655_struggle-bus-memes-memesuper-struggle-meme_551-325

I made it through 3 rounds plus 1 rep in 20 minutes and did not finish. I set a hard cutoff at 9:30 and headed out after putting my equipment away.

Here’s the good. I did a few jumping, low-bar muscle-up attempts and even manage to get one that felt almost decent. None of them were pretty, but I attempted them and got one so I’m happy.

Here’s the bad. I walked out at 9:30 because the time limit I set (20 minutes) was up, I was sore, and was ready to quit. I can use the excuse that I needed to get back to work. I can use the excuse that I didn’t want to get in the way of the 9:30 class. But the rest of the class finished past the 20 minute mark and I quit, cleaned up, and walked out.

93ddba473d9fddbf7499a22ba896d354_thank-you-for-your-input-thank-you-for-your-input-meme_311-311The ugly? I managed some ugly power cleans and push presses of 165#. Three full sets and a partial. 13 of them. My one rep max PR for clean & jerk was 175# set back in May 2014. I suspect I can probably do better than that now. My 1RM for push press was 195# and I bet I’m closer to that for C&J now.

So here’s my conundrum.

Today I should have pushed myself to finish the workout, but I didn’t. Usually I rely on my coaches to help push me when I get to that point, but that’s been a bit hit and miss of late. As a result, I’m backsliding on a lot of fronts.

I’m going to the box three or four times a week out of habit, which is great, but I’m not getting as much out of it these days because I’m not pushing like I was. Back in October to December, I felt like I was on a roll. I was pushing hard and seeing results. Since January that drive has fallen off.

Part of this has been various aches and pains that I haven’t been able to shake, due to a lack of mobility and erratic sleep. Working on those two things is definitely on the agenda.

But I definitely need a kick in the pants to get back in gear in the gym.

What have you done when you hit a slump in your workout program? What worked? What didn’t?

That said, great work to the rest of the 8:30 class who pushed through and finished the workout. Y’all killed it!

Leave a Reply

