CrossFit: The Great Equalizer

Before I get going on today’s workout (which was a doozy), I want to explain my point of view on the humble pie I eat on a regular basis at my box.

Last week I had one workout that I felt like I could handle all the elements and do them fairly well. It was Thursday’s combination of weighted sit-ups and dumbbell push jerks. I won’t say I killed it, but with my modifications and with the way I felt that day, I felt like I did the best I could and came away happy.

f008c72de97f1682c087a03471242a37Looking at the combination of WODs over the last couple of weeks, that’s roughly 1 in 6 workouts where I feel like I have a handle on things. Yesterday’s deadlift-fest was a good one, but I came away feeling like I should have done more. Last Thursday I’m pretty sure I didn’t have any more to give.

That’s the level I hope to achieve every time I walk into the box. Regardless of the movements in the workout itself, I want to feel like I gave it my all, every day.

Today’s WOD was not a combination in my wheel house and I never had a handle on it, so it was kind of frustrating. But that’s the other side of that coin. CrossFit is the great equalizer. By combining movements in various and sundry ways, it keeps you and your body guessing. And it keeps you humble. There’s always something to work on.

I think that’s why I keep going back. Sure, part of that is my addiction to workout-induced endorphins. But mainly because it keeps changing and always keeps me guessing. I’m not running the same gauntlet of machines at a globogym and getting bored out of my skull.

That one workout every now and then where I walk out knowing I did the best I possibly could have and surprised myself… that’s the payoff.

So what happened today? Well, let’s start like I always do…

Today’s Workout

I made it to the box today for an 8:30 class and my wife went with me. Amazingly enough she had today off, which was crazy. Maybe I can work out with her more than once this week! *gasp*

dr-evil-air-quotes-yes-this-is-what-we-call-a-warm-upAnyway, Coach Drea (who is very ready for her baby to be ready to be born any day now), was there to keep us moving through… um… some torture. I won’t sugar coat it. Thankfully we weren’t alone for the ordeal… Jonathan, Brent, Carrie, and Nic were there to share the suffering with us. πŸ™‚

We did what I will refer to as a hellish warm-up today. When your coach looks at you and says that the warm-up may fry you to the point where you don’t want to do the workout? Yeah, that’s not fair!

It’s been long enough now that I don’t remember the whole thing from this morning…

  • Run 100m
  • Do some things related to strict pull-ups
  • Run 100m
  • Do a few more things
  • Run 400m
  • Do a few more things
  • Flop around on the floor

It was not a grand old time and I might even put it into the “Sally Up” category of warm-ups. On the plus side, I did run both 100m and the 400m without stopping.

Yes, I’m whining.

silly-walkHonestly when we got done with the warm-up, I was already feeling my forearms and biceps burning. How was the workout going to feel?

Answer: Not great. πŸ™‚

The workout itself was a 20 minute AMRAP:

  • Run 400 meters
  • 15 L pull-ups
  • 15 hip extensions

Though Drea told us multiple times that this wasn’t a “running workout,” we heard tales of people getting 4 or 5 rounds done this morning. Considering my track record with strict pull-ups and running, I was thinking I might get through 2 rounds if I was lucky.

In order to get through this one, I scaled the hell out of it.

  • Ran 200m, walked 200m (right calf tightened up)
  • 15 banded strict pull-ups (small blue + green)
  • 15 good mornings with empty 45# barbell
  • Walked 200m, ran 200m
  • 5 banded strict pull-ups (same bands)
  • 10 awkward as hell ring rows with feet on a box (to the point where I scraped up my shoulder/back when I brushed against the wall and one of the little doodads embedded in the concrete)
  • 15 good mornings with empty 45# barbell
  • Walked 400m
  • 15 ring rows (normal)
  • 15 good mornings with empty 45# barbell

So to put this in perspective, I watched Brent & Jonathan do almost Rx work with L-sit strict pull-ups for a good chunk of the workout until they fell to normal strict pull-ups. Both of them completed 4 rounds and were into their 5th I think.

Ev scaled her pull-ups and managed 3 rounds plus the 400m run of the 4th round.

IMG952008

It was one of those workouts where my body was fighting me the whole way and though I kept moving, I was definitely on the struggle bus.

Yesterday I at least felt adequate on deadlifts. Last Thursday I felt awesome. Today… um… why? Oh yeah, because the struggle leads to strength. Strength leads to performance. Performance leads to better workouts…

a39f074be5b0735eebedbf883ed6ddc9

Great work 8:30 class! Y’all kept on moving. And moving faster than I was by a long shot, I must add. πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

One thought on “CrossFit: The Great Equalizer”

Leave a Reply

