Saturday Team WOD

Between the CrossFit Open and then soccer, we’ve been no-shows at the Saturday Team workouts at CrossFit Continuum for a while. It’s been a challenge to fit it in on weekends already jam packed with soccer madness. But today we made it happen.

Ev is working. Mickey is up north with her soccer team for a game. And AJ has a game later today, but she went with me to today’s Team WOD. Coach Clare set up a good one with a couple of couplets. And we had a pretty good turnout of 20 or so folks — Kelli & Trey, Marino & Deana, Shaun, Caleb, Dan & Monica, Larry, Brent, Jonathan & Sarah, Nic & Nichole, Lisa & Nick, and a mess of other folks. 🙂

IMAG1824

We warmed up together with some knee hugs, Spider-man lunges, Samson lunges, and shoulder mobility before breaking into teams of 2. Apparently some of us can’t count and we had a few teams of 3. 🙂 I joined Jonathan and Sarah and we decided we’d add more reps so that it was fair.

The workout was just for time in teams of 2 (or 3), dividing work however we wanted:

  • 50 T2B (75)
  • 40 push ups (60)
  • 30 T2B (45)
  • 20 push ups (30)
  • 10 T2B (15)
  • Run 800m together
  • 10 box jumps (15)
  • 20 KBS (53/35) (30)
  • 30 box jumps (45)
  • 40 KBS (60)
  • 50 box jumps (75)

Toes-to-bars took a while, but we worked through it. By the end of the round of 45 I fell to knees-to-elbows. We did the full 800m route for the run, down and around by the gas station and Sonic. I’ve not done it before, so it was interesting, though I have to say that running along Academy Blvd. really wasn’t my cup of tea. (Neither was running. I think I ran chunks of 200m or so in a few places, but we walked some and ran some. I was happy for the leisurely pace!)

IMAG1852

We did 20″ box jumps so that I could convince myself to do jumps instead of step-ups, per Clare’s instruction. And Jonathan did some 70# kettle bell swings, though I stuck to 53#, Sarah did 35# in the first round and 53# for the second.

It was a good workout. We never really stopped moving at all. And I’m tired now. Life is good. 🙂

IMAG1878

Took us a bit more than 25 minutes to complete the whole thing with the extra reps, which was pretty good I thought.

Thanks for letting me be the third wheel, guys!

Next up… Nap time! 😀 Have a great weekend!

(Thanks to AJ for the pics!)

 

Leave a Reply

