A Better Day

So… this week has been a struggle. Whether I’ve been stuck in my head or dealing with mobility limitations, something has slowed me down every day so far. Today however, I finally got a good workout in and felt the happy endorphins flooding my system. Took long enough. 🙂

1286c3f3a2e04fee9ac3a47d34dd609a--stress-reliever-truthsMade it into Continuum for an 8:30 class with my wife. She’s been working every day this week, so it’s been the only day we’ve had an opportunity to work out together. We had Coach Bill and a great group of folks – Clara, Sarah, Carrie, Jenny, Caleb, Nic & Nichole. Nine of us in all.

We started with some foam rolling and banded shoulder work, then a lovely pair row of 1500m. Ev and I finished that in a bit over 6 minutes. And then we did an interesting little 3 round warm-up:

  • 6 strict shoulder press with a light dumbbell while in a lunge on the ground, each arm (I used a 20# dumbbell)
  • 6 one-legged box step-ups, each leg
  • 8 sit-ups

35pounddumbbellsAnd once all of that was done we started working on some dumbbell push jerks for the workout and sorting out who would be doing regular, regular weighted, incline, or GHD sit-ups. I tried a 30# dumbbell and decided it was too light, so switched to a 35# dumbbell. My worry, as always, was my left arm.

The workout was pretty straightforward:

  • 15 minute AMRAP
  • 21 GHD/weighted sit-ups
  • 14 one-arm dumbbell push jerks – single, heavy dumbbell and alternate arms each rep

37CB39BE00000578-0-image-a-9_1472770313608I used a 35# dumbbell for the push jerks and went with a 20# medicine ball for the weighted sit-ups. And I made it through nearly 7 rounds. 6 rounds plus 31 reps — only 4 reps from finishing the 7th round.

Though the grip in my left hand began to go by about the 5th round, I was able to fight through those next couple of rounds a rep at a time with the dumbbell. And I was quite pleased with the result, considering I expected only to get through 4 or 5 rounds.

Ev finished the 7th round and used a 25# dumbbell and 20# medicine ball. I was just happy that I kept up with her. She’s damn fast on those sit-ups!

When it was all through we did a few yoga pose holds to try and stretch out our shoulders a bit and that seemed to help. I don’t feel bad yet. The sit-ups will hit me on Saturday. 🙂

Felt much better today than I have for a few days, so I’ll take it. 🙂

Great work 8:30 class! And thanks Bill!

One thought on “A Better Day”

Leave a Reply

