Feeling Old

Some days I feel very very far from a fully functioning adult. Whether it’s the adulting that’s the problem or just normal human struggles, I don’t know. But some days, I’m definitely on the struggle bus. Lately I’ve been riding the bus more than usual. And usually heading into the CrossFit box can at least alleviate the symptoms for a bit.

Today, not so much.

10xdnb

Arrived for an 8:30 class at Continuum with Coach Drea. We had a good group of folks – Jonathan, Todd & Melissa, Clara, Nic and Nichole. And the first thing Drea let slip was that we had some running to deal with as we were walking in… Ugh.

So we did 7 minutes of “running” to get started. I made it about 1000 meters at an easy jog. And my right calf was already telling me that was a bad idea.

When we got back inside, we did a 3 round warm-up of:

  • 20 seconds of light dumbbell strict press (I went really light with 15# dumbbells)
  • 20 seconds of something else (my brain is blanking)
  • 20 seconds of inchworms with a pike push-up

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-1After that it was some handstand push-up practice starting in a yoga crow position on the floor and kicking out and then moving to the wall. And finally we grabbed a barbell to do a few walking lunges.

  • Complete as many rounds as possible in 10 minutes of:
  • 10 handstand push-ups
  • 95/65-lb. front rack walking lunges, 15 steps

I started with two abmats for my HSPUs and did kipping ones for a while, then added a 15# plate beneath those and did strict to that. And my walking lunges were crap. Right knee went down fine, but left leg/knee/hip didn’t want to cooperate at all, so I ended up doing a mix of lunges and front squats with the 95# bar.

I made it through 2 complete rounds of my scaling options before we ran out of time.

And once that was done, Drea sent us out for another 7 minute run. I ended up walking it, cleaned up my stuff inside, and headed out.

Most of the time I get a nice little endorphin boost from a workout. Today I left feeling old, tired and defeated. Um. Yay.

Tomorrow will likely be a rest day for me. I’ll be back Thursday and maybe my brain and the workout will work better together.

Great work to the rest of the class!

Leave a Reply

