What a week…

Wow, what a week. Let’s just say that my head has not been in the right place for a few days. Not sure how or why, but… ugh.

  • 10z7zwMonday I woke up angry and worked out anyway.
  • Tuesday we had a snow day and I ground some mental gears as we shifted plans 3x that morning. Never did make it to the box,
  • Wednesday I thought about going but got tied up at work.
  • Thursday I had to go. And even that was a struggle.

Apparently I’m riding the struggle bus this week and have a window seat.

Today’s workout was the one originally slated for yesterday but moved due to snow. (Tough to run when the parking lot is an ice rink.) And running… running isn’t my thing. So there was a mental battle this morning that raged on.

silly-walkThe only thing that saved me was the familiarity of routine. I try to go to crossfit Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays. Sometimes I add Saturdays. Sometimes I add other days. But M-T-Th… that’s my jam.

Today was Thursday, so regardless of what the workout happened to be, I needed to be there. So I was. Routine beat mental games. Thank goodness for the routine.

I went in with Ev to the 8:30 class with Coach Bill. We were joined by Elyse, Lisa, Carrie, and Larry. And we were goofy during the warm-up as we listened to 80s music. 🙂

Started with some foam rolling, then did the back and forth running drills we’ve done in the past. High knees karaoke. Ministry of Silly Walks. The whole nine yards.

Grabbed empty barbells and then did 3 reps and a quick lap inside, added weight, did it again, and repeated that until we got to our working weight.

  • 5 rounds for time of:
  • Run 400 meters
  • 185/125# deadlifts, 21 reps

DLgripwidthDuring the warm-ups I noticed that my right calf was giving me grief. Even Bill commented on it. And during the workout itself it felt like it might as well have been a club foot. Bill had me transition to a row in the 3rd round. So my workout looked like:

  • 400m jog
  • 21 deadlifts, 185#
  • 400m walk
  • 21 deadlifts, 185#
  • 500m row
  • 21 deadlifts, 185#
  • 500m row
  • 21 deadlifts, 185#
  • 500m row
  • 21 deadlifts, 185#
  • time: 26:40

We had a 30 minute time cap and I got done under that, so I was happy. Elyse and Lisa were done in about 18 minutes or so and lapped me pretty quickly. Ev finished in 23:30 or so but didn’t quite lap me. Even so, I was DFL and didn’t really care. I finished.

dfl-dnf-dns

I really need to figure out what the heck is going on with my calves. The right one knotted up fast today and then my hips and knees got into the action complaining as well. I need to do more stretching and mobility work at home. I suspect that’s all that needs to happen. But time is a factor and my excuse, so until I get over that speed bump I suspect it will remain a problem.

Told you I was on the struggle bus this week. Great work everybody!

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

