Don’t WOD Angry, But Thank Goodness for Endorphins

For some weird reason, I woke up angry today. I didn’t sleep well and at one point the hours were counting down on the clock instead of going up. Yes, it was just a trick of a tired mind, but it was still weird to look at the clock at 1am thinking it was weird and waiting for the alarm to go off when it struck zero.

60550221At any rate, I got up in a grump and started the day. I needed the endorphins I knew I’d get from a crossfit workout.

Arrived for the 8:30 class at Continuum. We had Coach Drea, plus Nic & Nichole, Sarah, Jenny, Todd & Melissa. A fun crew.

We started with a 400m run and then came back to do 3 rounds of:

  • 20 seconds of air squats
  • 20 seconds of med ball cleans (20/14#)
  • 20 seconds of kipping on the rig

From there we did a little barbell complex with an empty barbell:

  • back squats
  • good mornings
  • strict shoulder press
  • straight leg deadlifts
  • front squats

Once that was done, we started loading up for the workout itself. We did some power cleans and made sure we could put the bar over our heads easily for back squats.

Olympic weights

The workout was:

  • 3 rounds for time:
  • 1 minute of Back Squats, 135/95#
  • 1 minute of rest
  • 1 minute of Chest to Bar pull-ups
  • 1 minute of rest
  • 1 minute of Power Cleans, 135/95#

I did it at the level 2 weights – 115#. I managed:

  • 18 back squats, 2 C2B, 13 power cleans
  • 16, 5 (jumping C2B), and 11
  • 15, 5 (jumping C2B), and 11
  • total = 96 reps

83b94bc23865b82116f6b70d357b5dc2Not bad for monday. I was laughing at myself during the C2B’s though as I was pushing away from the bar and easily half a foot away from the bar a few times.

Endorphins are good. I laughed at myself quite a bit. And between my left hip and right calf, my legs were not happy when I was done.

What does Drea ask us to do in the last 5 minutes? Double-under practice. I have to admit to taking my sweet time getting off the ground, putting my stuff away, getting my rope, and actually starting practice. But I did get some single unders in at least.

So I was in a bit better mood when I got home, but then work struck and there you have it… Ugh. Monday. 🙂

Great work everybody and thanks Drea!

Leave a Reply

