Our CrossFit Family is Goofy

Sure, there was a workout today. And yes, I went to a morning class at CrossFit Continuum. But I want to start this post with a description of how comfortable I am at our box.

Our whole family went this morning, which is the first time in a while. Me, Ev, and the girls went to join the workout. I know that our coaches keep an eye on my girls just like Ev & I do. I know that many of the other athletes at the box do too. The girls are safer at the box than they are just about anywhere else but home.

We were led by Coach Bill, who they love hanging out with. He jokes with them constantly and they have a good time together. We had Jonathan & Sarah, Stacie, Brianne, Nic & Nichole, Jake, and Connie there too. Great big class while spring break is going on. All wonderful folks.

We started with a 400m jog passing around a medicine ball and a small weighted rubber ball (maybe a slam ball, but not sure what it was called). We tossed the ball around and were laughing the whole time, even when the ball hit the ground with an errant throw here and there.

When we got inside, we paired up and did a goofy warm-up (called the Junkyard Dog Warm-up)…

I paired up with Ev, which was entertaining. Neither one of us is much of a jumper and the height difference made things interesting, but we had fun. I pretty much army crawled beneath her and she had a nice high bridge to crawl beneath.

And when that was done we split up into two teams of 6 and played tic-tac-toe with medicine balls. That was a hoot.  We essentially ran back and forth like crazy people and tried to put the medicine balls (marked with little colored stickers) into a tic-tac-toe board made with PVC pipes. The loser of each game had to do a movement. We did burpees. The other team did push-ups.

We laughed the entire time. Hooting and hollering and shouting our teammates to glory. It was fun.

And then we got to work with the workout for the day…

  • 5 sets of 3 weighted pull-ups (strict)

Now, I can do regular pull-ups for a while. And I can do strict pull-ups once in awhile, but they’re not a strength.

Today it went like this:

  • 3 strict pull-ups
  • 3 strict pull-ups (more awkward)
  • 3 strict pull-ups (even more awkward)
  • 1 strict pull-up with a weighted vest (thanks Jonathan!) and 2 without (that were awful)
  • and then 2 strict pull-ups before I ran out of pull. not even sure the second one got my nose above the bar

When all of that was done, we talked a bit about the metcon for the day…

  • 1,000m sprint row for time

And we split off into heats. I think Jonathan and Jake were about 3:41 and within a few tenths of a second of each other. We cheered them on.

When I went, I did awesome for the first 500m and then fell off like a stone. I went from under a 1:45 pace to struggling to keep around a 2:00 pace. I finished in 3:43, which made me happy.

How’d the girls do?

  • Ev did 1,000m in 4:08
  • Mickey in 4:36
  • AJ in 4:54

They were moving right along! And then Bill sat down and blew us all away in 2:58. He was flying!

Great work to the whole 8:30 team. We had a blast. It was fun to cheer one another on the whole time!

Thanks Bill!

Leave a Reply

