Some Days YOU Are the Barbell

Now that the CrossFit Open is over, I suspect we’re going to get back to the staples of crossfit workouts… metcons and strength days jumbled together to keep our minds and our bodies guessing as to what’s next. And honestly I’m good with that.

question-mark-clip-art-7599This week we’ve had some issues with the box software and though it’s been frustrating on one hand not to have easy access to scheduling and the rest of it, it’s been kind of a nice change of pace to not know what the workout is until you walk through the doors. Don’t tell my coaches I said that… (too late) But the surprise factor makes it even more interesting for me in some respects.

I walked in this morning for the 8:30 class with Coach Larry. We had Bri, Nic & Nicole, JJ, and Jake today. A great mix of folks, as per usual.

We started with a 400m jog and then came back for 3 rounds of:

  • 10 sit-ups
  • 10 air squats
  • 30 second plank hold

And from that point on, it was all the “Deck of Cards” workout:

  • Each suit in a standard 52-card deck is assigned a different movement. Draw a card. The suit dictates the movement and the number on the card (or fixed # for face cards) indicates the # of reps. Lather-rinse-repeat until you get through the deck.
  • Oh and Jokers = 800m run

In our case, we had air squats (diamonds), sit-ups (hearts), push-ups (clubs), and burpees (spades). If it was a face card, it was 10 reps. And the number of reps for some movements (squats & sit-ups) were doubled. We had a 2 minute break after every 14 cards or so.

cards

We got through about 2/3 of the deck by the end of the class and only hit one Joker, thankfully. But we hit a good mix of movements, which meant Larry shuffled pretty well. 🙂

The killer combination was push-ups and burpees. I have to say I’m still sore from 17.5. My quads, knees, and calves are still annoyed. I had a couple of sequences where I had to drop to knees for push-ups and I had quite a few burpees that were slow as molasses. Even my air squats were compromised. We had a few sets where I was leaning way forward trying to get more depth as opposed to keeping my torso upright and Larry caught me.

Sit-ups weren’t too bad, but I’ll feel them in another couple of days. That was a solid 30+ minute workout and I’m sure I’ll feel it all much sooner than I want to. 🙂

The run was entertaining. I ran half of the first 400 and half of the last 400, and walked the rest. I’m not sure if it was the pace I set or my brain getting in the way, but the whole “running” thing is still not one of my favorites. 🙂

Unless you are built like a light, flexible gymnast, body-weight exercises simply means that you’re using your body weight as a barbell. For me these days it varies between 225 and 230 pounds. That’s a good chunk of weight.

Then I think about some of the folks I was working out with. Jake is about 6’5″ and another 50+ pounds of muscle, so things like burpees where you’re throwing your body to the floor and then getting up and jumping must be even tougher for him.

I’ll take my body weight, thanks. 🙂

Great work 8:30 class and thanks Larry!

Leave a Reply

