Monday Sets of 3

I’ll start off by saying that other than about 15 minutes of foam rolling on Sunday, I did very very little over the weekend after doing battle with 17.5. Therefore, I knew I had to get my rear end into the box to get moving again come Monday.

So here we are at Monday. And I did just that. πŸ™‚

front-squat-300x280

We had Coach Bill this morning, which was fun. But we had a great mix of folks – Jonathan & Sarah, Nic & Nicole, Bri, Sam, Carrie, Larry, and Jake. It’s Spring Break, so the place was hopping.

Started with a 400m jog and then did a few minutes of couch stretch, a 30 second handstand hold, and some work with an empty barbell. I’d tell you what we did with the empty barbell, but I don’t want to scare off later classes in case it comes up again. Suffice it to say that Larry figured it out quickly and the rest of us groaned along. πŸ™‚

From there it was just a matter of breaking up into groups of 2 or 3 to get moving. Today we did:

  • Front squat 3-3-3
  • Thrusters 3-3-3
  • Push Jerk 3-3-3
  • All starting about 85% of our 1RM and moving upwards

20170327_092607I worked with Nic & Jonathan and they’re both stronger than they think they are. πŸ™‚Β We warmed up with a set of each of the movements at 115# and went up from there quickly.

  • Front squat – 155# x3, 185# x3, 225# x1 (fail)
  • Thrusters – 135# x3, 145# x3, 155# x3
  • Push Jerk – 155# x3, 175# x1 (fail), 175# x1 (fail)

My 1RMs are:

  • Front squat – 245#
  • Thruster – 175#
  • Push Jerk – not sure, but my push press is 195# and my clean & jerk is 175#

So to put that into %:

  • Front squat – 63%, 75%, 92% (fail)
  • Thruster – 77%, 83%, 88%
  • Push jerk (% of average of 1RM PP & C&J at 185#) – 84%, 95%, 95%

Not too bad really. Jonathan is a beast, hitting 255# & 275# on his front squat, 175# on his thrusters, and 175# & 185# on his push jerks. Nic was right there with him, pushing 225# front squats and 185# push jerks.

It was a good day. My left shoulder is a bit cranky, but otherwise I actually felt a lot better moving by the end than I did when we started.

Good thing I got in and got moving. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

