Bruises and Muscle Up Progressions

Thursdays are hit and miss for me. Sometimes I make the morning class. Sometimes I push into the Noon arena. But usually I make it one way or another. Today Ev & AJ went to the 8:30 class and I had a meeting, so I made it to Noon. No biggie.

I was a little cautious today after spraining a finger on the rope climbs on Tuesday. Dr. Caleb (our favorite chiropractor) put me back together yesterday, but it was still hurting a bit and I didn’t want to injure it (or knock the rest of my body too far out of whack) ahead of the 17.5 announcement and Friday Night Lights tonight and tomorrow…

CandlestickThat said, Joe and I were led by the always cheerful Coach Drea. We started with a 400m jog and then did three rounds of 20 seconds each of:

  • air squats
  • roll-to-candlestick
  • “explosive” bridge-ups

We then got some “light” kettle-bells to practice our kettle-bell clean & jerks. Not awful. Everything seemed to be moving ok. From there we talked about the workout:

  • 5 rounds for time of:
  • 10 kettlebell clean and jerks, 1.5/1 pood (or level 1 — 1/.5 pood) each
  • 3 muscle-ups or muscle-up transitions

The muscle-up transitions were a little different than what we normally do. Instead of starting on the floor, Joe and I went with a set of rings about shoulder height or so and jumped into the lower position (or attempted to) before pushing out into a full lock-out.

His definitely looked better than mine.

kettlebells

5 rounds took a while, but it took me about 20:27 to work through it with a pair of 35# kettle-bells. Joe was done in 21 something, but he was doing more attempts at the transitions than I was. My left shoulder got cranky about 2 rounds in and I was trying not to piss it off further.

And once that was all done, we had some time to do a bit of shoulder mobility, so we took advantage of it.

All in all, not a bad workout. I’m tired now though. Kind of like the rope climbs on Tuesday, I think these muscle-up transitions were more taxing than we thought. Even just 3 of them each round for 5 rounds. And I suspect there will be a few new bruises on arms after doing all those kettle bell cleans.

May see if I can sneak in a nap tonight while I’m waiting for AJ at soccer practice. šŸ™‚

Great work Joe! Thanks Drea!

Leave a Reply

