Wall balls make me want to hurl

Some days you’re the wall and some days you’re the ball, but none of that stops those wall balls from being awful.

Today I managed to squeak in for an 8:30 class with Coach Drea and a mess of great folks – Jonathan, Jake, Caleb, Carrie, Jenny, Connie, and Tionne. The place was hopping.

kettlebells

We started with a 400m run and then came in for a bit of a warm-up with a kettle bell.

  • 5 minute AMRAP
  • 5 one-armed kettle bell clean and jerks
  • 10 kettle bell swings
  • 15 kettle bell deadlifts

I think I got through the whole mess maybe twice. I wasn’t pushing all that hard and there was a lot of talking during the whole thing. 🙂

climbing-rope-atje23--853-pFrom there we grabbed an empty barbell to warm up with some deadlifts, push presses, and push jerks, before adding weight to the bar to get up to our working weight for the workout…

  • 3 rounds for time of:
  • 3 legless rope climbs
  • 6 push jerks, 225/155# (185/125# level II, 115/75# level I)
  • 12 deadlifts (same weight)
  • 24 weighted sit-ups
  • 48 wall-ball shots, 20/14# ball

Since all of the push jerks needed to come from the floor (you had to clean it at least once), I knew 225# and even 185# would be pushing it. I scaled to 135# and then added to 155# for the workout. It made for very light deadlifts, but meant that I could clean it and probably get it overhead.

We had a 30 minute time cap. I did not finish, but got through 2 full rounds with legless rope climb attempts. Managed to get close to the top (within 2/3 feet) most of the time and was happy with that. But the wall balls absolutely killed me.

It took 13 minutes to get through the 1st round and in the middle of my wall balls for the second round I had to go outside because I thought I was going to hurl. I don’t do that often, but I guess wall balls bring out the best in me. Not.

This was a killer workout. Great work to everybody who finished it!

dfl-dnf-dns

Leave a Reply

