My Monday is Swole

After Friday’s less than spectacular efforts with 17.4, I didn’t really do much this weekend. I caught up on a few movies and watched the entirety of the Iron Fist series on Netflix (it was underwhelming if you were curious). Pretty much I just hung out with our dog and enjoyed the quiet while my family was out of state at a soccer tourney.

Today they are home and I headed out for a Noon workout at CrossFit Continuum with Coach Drea and Sarah. Bill was there redoing 17.4 and got to 29 HSPUs before he ran out of time, but that’s a heck of a lot further than I got — so bravo!

We started with a 400m run and then did three rounds of 20 seconds each of:

  • push-ups
  • sit-ups
  • air squats

Pushup

When that was done, we did a few practice reps with our bar for push-ups and then talked about rowing. Drea wanted us to focus on slowing down and making our rowing more efficient. I’m definitely not the best at that and slowing down, well… that was a challenge. 🙂

But the workout was pretty straightforward:

  • for time
  • Row 500 meters
  • 30 bench presses, body weight (or 3/4 body-weight or 1/2 body weight)
  • Row 1,000 meters
  • 20 bench presses
  • Row 2,000 meters
  • 10 bench presses

Barbell_Bench_Press

Though I *can* do a body weight bench press at 225/230#, there’s no way in hell I could do 60 of them. 🙂 I dropped it to a much more reasonable 135# (60% of 225#). And before the first 30 reps were done I had to drop it to 95# (42% OF 225).

I got through 24 bench presses at 135# before I couldn’t push any more. Drea helped me drop the weight and we put 95# on it. And I finished the rest of the workout with that.

Took me about 27 minutes to finish the workout — all 3500m and 60 bench presses. Sarah finished a few minutes ahead of me. She kicked butt.

So not bad for a Monday. Good cardio and some strength. Now I’m tired and ready for a nap. 🙂

Thanks Drea! And great work Sarah!

Leave a Reply

