Resisting Gravity

Today is another day. Amazing how that happens. Sun came up and everything! 🙂

And it’s a Tuesday, so it must be a day for CrossFit. Though it seems like most days are good for CF, sometimes things just don’t work out and life gets in the way. Tuesdays seem to continue to be good days for CF in my schedule.
Made it in for an 8:30 workout today with Coach Drea, Todd, Melissa, Jenny, Carrie, and Jonathan. We started with a 400m jog and then came in to continue the warm-up with some ankle & wrist mobility on the floor before tackling this fun little 3 round starter:

  • Candlestick5 pike holds (straight legs, weight shifted to shoulders and palms)
  • 5 handstand shifts from r to l on wall
  • 5 deep lunges per side (essentially a lunge to a stand)
  • 5 candlestick rolls

As you might expect, this was a bit awkward for yours truly. Certain movements just don’t work well for me yet. Sometimes I feel like I’m improving, but it’s definitely a struggle to get my head out of the way long enough to accomplish some movements or body positions. But I did my best. {Candlestick rolls are essentially butt bruisers for me, so awkward doesn’t even cut it.)

Once all that was done we started pulling together the equipment we needed for today’s skill work AMRAP, which was essentially just a lot of skill work for me.

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-1Today’s workout was:

  • 5 rounds for time
  • 100-ft handstand walk or 15 handstand walk-ups or 10 elevated inchworms
  • 30 one-legged squats, alternating (or 20 one-legged squats to a box, alternating)

I attempted the “handstand walk-ups” today onto a 15# weight plate and did my pistols to a stack including a 45# and 15# plate, plus a 20# medicine ball.

To describe a “handstand walk-up,” essentially you put a weight plate on the floor in front of the wall and kick into a handstand on the wall with your hands to either side of the plate. You move both hands onto the plate, then off again.

To me, this is akin to trying to convince my feet not to touch the ground when I walk and makes about as much sense. We’ve done similar skill work with “shoulder touches” while in a handstand on the wall. For those you lift your hand and tap the shoulder with it, put it down, then do the same with the other hand, back and forth.

Convincing my hands to come off the ground is exhausting. And to think that only a few years ago I was so geeked up just to be able to kick up into a handstand on the wall.

Today I did actually manage to rock back and forth a few times and get one or both hands onto the weight plate before falling down. Carrie was very good at demonstrating the smooth shoulder movement in a very goofy way while standing upright and it we all got a good laugh about it — but pretty much she had it right. The trick was to rock from side to side less than pick up one hand or the other, using that momentum to pick up the “up” hand and move it.

1ldzdt

Was it pretty? No. Effective? Definitely not. Consistent? Hell no. But I did manage a few of them, so I’ll take it.

And my pistols were equally ugly though I was eventually able to string a few of them together when I got comfortable sitting back on my little pile of stuff and rocking forward to stand up again.

I’m now tired and sweaty and don’t think I got all the way through 2 complete rounds. Close, but not quite. And that was in about 20 minutes.

Here’s the thing. I made some progress. Jerky, awkward, uncoordinated progress. But progress. I’ll take it. 🙂

Meanwhile Todd was over on the other side doing pistols and handstand walks and making it look easy. 🙂

Good work folks! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

