Overhead then row forever…

Last week was a blur. Finally, Sunday in the middle of the day, I felt like I came out of the fog that started the Monday prior. Today I’m back in an allergy-induced haze, but still humming along better than I have been… so I guess I won’t complain. Much. 🙂

Today it was just me heading in for an 8:30 class at CrossFit Continuum. Felt good to get back to the “normal” routine this week. Coach Bill was there and we were joined by Jenny, Todd & Melissa. Fun crew for a Monday morning.

Started with a bit of mobility, ran a 400m, and then did some warm-ups with a PVC pipe:

  • PVC pass-thrus
  • Hollow-body rocks in an overhead position with a PVC pipe on the floor
  • Front squats
  • More pass-thrus & hollow body
  • Back squats
  • More pass-thrus & hollow body
  • Overhead squats

Once we were done with that, we warmed up further with an empty barbell and some overhead squats before starting to add weight. I warmed up with 45# and 75# before we started working through five sets of 3:

  • 95# x3
  • 95# x3
  • 105# x3
  • 105# x3
  • 110# x3

Except for my wrists (thank goodness for wrist wraps and knee sleeves), I actually felt pretty good today and Bill seemed happy with my reps, which was nice. The week off where I was sick seems to have done some good to help my body recover.

Once all that was done, we had a metcon:

  • 5 rounds
  • 5 minutes of rowing
  • 5 minutes of rest

I only did the full 5 minutes of rest the first round. The rest of them I just waited until the display on the rower timed out and started again. Had a nice chat with folks while we rowed forever.

The power went out in the building sometime in the 2nd 5 minute row, but the rowers had their own displays and were on battery so it didn’t matter. We had some light coming in the window so it wasn’t too bad and really didn’t affect us much. 🙂

By the time I was done, I covered about 5350m. Averaged a bit more than 1000m each round without really pushing too hard.

Honestly it just felt good to get back to moving some weight and then getting my sweat on for the longer row.  I didn’t feel like I was redlining, but pushed a bit. It was nice just to be breathing.  🙂

Thanks Bill and great work folks!

Leave a Reply

