Working out with a cold

So we did the Friday Night Lights event on, you guessed it, Friday. By Saturday I was starting to feel the beginnings of a cold that I’ve resisted until now. By Sunday it was full bore in my head and we spent the day in Pueblo for a soccer tournament.

This morning I really didn’t want to get up. 🙂 But oh well, adulting for the win.

Even so, I figured that maybe I could sweat out some of the crud in my head. And it worked, briefly, but I feel it collecting again as I sit here typing this. Oh well.

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-18:30 class was Coach Drea, myself, Sarah, Maria, and Brent. We got started with a 500m row or 2 minutes on the Devil’s Trike, then moved to a little 5 minute AMRAP:

  • 5 strict handstand push-ups or 1/2 HSPUs
  • 10 kettle bell sumo deadlift high pulls
  • 15 air squats

My strict HSPUs might as well have been elbow dips. I did my KB SDHPs with a 35# KB. And the air squats. I think I made it through 3 rounds in 5 mins or a little over.

Once that was done we started working on HSPU kipping mechanics and pistols. I’m ok at HSPUs if I can do them strict and not go down further than one abmat, but I’ve never really attempted deficit ones. But I got a few kipping HSPUs with 25# plates and an abmat (almost level, so not deficit but closer to the “ground”).

Pistol_SquatNow… pistols. Ugh.

She had us doing roll-to-candlestick to get the feel for how we should be hunched over our knees to roll down and get back up, with both legs and then each leg independently. I can’t get back on my feet from any of them, but I felt more comfortable going to the ground on each subsequent one than I have for a while.

Apparently falling on my ass is getting easier. 🙂

And I came to realize that I am much more nimble going to a pistol (not a deep one, but getting there) with my right leg than my left. So it’s entertaining. Something to work on. We eventually went with a stack of plates and a medball… 45# plate + 15# plate + medball = weird stack.

The workout was a 10 minute AMRAP:

  • 10 deficit handstand push-ups
  • 20-calorie row
  • 30 single-legged squats, alternating

It took me a long time to get a weird mix of kipping and non-kipping HSPUs. The row wasn’t bad. And the alternating pistols took forever with me falling over a few times.

1kvt5i

However, got through 1 round and 5 HSPUs into the next one before the 10 minutes was up. So 1+5. Not a great score, but I felt like I made a little pistol progress today anyway.

When all that was done we did some mobility work before heading out. I think I sweat just as much during the mobility work as I did with the workout.

Anyway… Good work everybody! Thanks Drea!

Now I’ll go back to blowing my nose and clearing my throat… Ugh.

Leave a Reply

