A Bunch of Jerks

I did a bunch of push jerks today. I didn’t push a bunch of jerks today. Isn’t English fun?

That said, I was in a very low spot this morning before I made my way to the 8:30 class. After putting down our old pup over the weekend, it’s been rough few days. I knew that my routine, especially the endorphins that would come as a result of working out, would probably be my best bet at getting through my day.

I arrived and worked with Coach Drea, Stacie, Brent, Sarah, Tionne, and the nice military guy whose name I still can’t remember. (Good guy though.) And we even saw Bill.

gray_profile

We got going with a bang. Our warm-up was our eval workout…

  • for time
  • 500m row
  • 40 air squats
  • 30 sit-ups
  • 20 push-ups
  • 10 pull-ups

We had to waterfall in (4 rowers), so I started at 3:10 on the clock. And I finished at 9 minutes. That’s 5:50. My previous fastest time was 5:53 on 8-NOV-2016, so I’ll take 5:50. Definitely.

From there we did some warm-up with an empty bar for our behind-the-neck jerks and our push jerks. We could do our behind-the-neck reps as either a split jerk or a push jerk, so I opted for the push jerk. I’m more controlled there.

jerks-3

And once we were through that, we started going through the first part of the workout:

  • Behind the neck jerk — 1-1-1-1-1-1

We were supposed to start at 80-85% of our 1RM, which turns out I don’t have a push jerk PR, so wasn’t sure. I was a little sore even after working with the empty bar however, so I started slow.

  • 95#
  • 115#
  • 125#
  • 135#
  • 145#
  • 155#

Not awful. From there we moved to the second part of the workout. These were from a front rack however, not from behind the neck:

  • Push Jerk — 10-8-6-4-2

2528d6_ed3615fc7a2f482b923ca3913ed2ce07We were supposed to start around 50% of what we did for our behind-the-neck, but I did a very similar progression:

  • 95# x10
  • 115# x8
  • 135# x6
  • 145# x4
  • 155# x2

And then I was done. The last rep on my x6, x4, and x2 were a bit rough but I did ok. Good thing I didn’t have to squat much underneath it however. 🙂

I definitely felt better when I was done. Thank goodness for brain chemistry and exercise.

Thanks Drea & Bill and good work 8:30 class!

Leave a Reply

