Open Workout 17.1

It’s been a rough few days, but I wanted to catch up a bit here and talk about the 17.1 CrossFit Open workout. I almost didn’t go on Friday night to the “Friday Night Lights” event due to a pet crisis, but we got there.

games-logo-2017We had a huge turnout of folks from our box and a few drop-ins as well, so it was awesome to see. I got to watch many friends get it over in the early going and then got sucked into judging. I am no judge, but I did my best. I helped out Shaun and then later on helped out Donnie, a drop-in.

When it was my time to go, I was definitely not warmed up in the slightest. I did a bunch of squats, tried a couple of tentative one-armed snatches, a box jump or two, and did a lot of air squats. Hopefully it would be enough.

The first workout of this year’s open was a doozy.

  • Workout 17.1
  • For time:
  • 10 dumbbell snatches
  • 15 burpee box jump-overs
  • 20 dumbbell snatches
  • 15 burpee box jump-overs
  • 30 dumbbell snatches
  • 15 burpee box jump-overs
  • 40 dumbbell snatches
  • 15 burpee box jump-overs
  • 50 dumbbell snatches
  • 15 burpee box jump-overs
  • Men use 50-lb. dumbbell and 24-in. box
  • Women use 35-lb. dumbbell and 20-in. box
  • Time cap: 20 minutes

25pound-dumbbellJust so you know, I might be able to do 50# dumbbell snatches, but not for long. And 24″ burpee box jump-overs would take me forever but I could probably do them as well. Instead I aimed for the scaled version:

  • Men use 35-lb. dumbbell and 20-in. box, step-ups OK
  • Women use 20-lb. dumbbell and 20-in. box, step-ups OK

So, with a 35# dumbbell in range, a 20″ box ready, and my friend Jonathan ready to judge, we got started. I decided that since I didn’t have to jump and could step-up, I would do that instead. More efficient and less chance of injury.

As suspected, the first set of 10 snatches and 15 burpee box jump-overs weren’t bad. Even the set of 20 snatches wasn’t awful. But as soon as I got to the set of 30, I felt the burn.

I was pounding the dumbbell into the mat at the bottom every time I touched the ground. It was interesting. Clare (one of our coaches) liked the aggressiveness apparently (and I got a couple of similar comments from folks like Margaret, which was nice). I’m not sure I was doing it for any good reason, but it felt like the thing to do — so hey. 🙂

The burpee box jump-overs were the killer part, but by the time I got to the set of 50 snatches I have to say I was dying a bit. My last set of about 10 I was throwing the dumbbell at the ground and then picking it up with the other hand. Coach Bill came over after I was done and said the last 10 shouldn’t have counted because I wasn’t putting it down.

20170224_194618_001-animationI’m not competing against anyone but myself, so I’m not too worried about those 10 reps. Neither was Jonathan, so I guess I’m ok. He caught me resting my right hand on my right thigh when I was doing left-armed thrusters in a few places, so that will be something to watch. Definitely my weak side.

In the 20 minutes, I managed to get through 182 reps of the 225 total. Quite honestly, I didn’t expect to get into the round of 50, so I was happy with that score.

Later on, I watched my wife kick ass at the scaled workout. She finished the damn thing in 19:45. Could not be prouder.

 

Honestly everybody I saw doing the workout kicked some serious butt, so great work Continuum family!

If anybody is interested in our scores, you can check out the scoreboard for our box here. As of this morning I’m not seeing any scores showing up, but I logged both Ev’s and mine, so eventually they’ll probably start to show up.

We had a good time. Next week let’s do it again. 🙂

One thought on “Open Workout 17.1”

Leave a Reply

