Some Old Open WODs to Warm-up

Apparently we’re doing a couple of older CrossFit Open workouts this week to warm up for the 17.1 announcement on Thursday night and Friday Night Lights event on Friday. I’m excited for the Open and terrified of what Castro has in store for us all, so apparently I’m as “ready” as I’m going to be. πŸ™‚

Due to some work meetings this morning I couldn’t go at 8:30, so I headed in for the 9:30 class — and apparently the 8:30 class was where the cool kids were at. Packed house! Coach Larry had his hands full this morning.

crossfit-equipmentIn the 9:30 class it was me, Dan, Karen, and another gentleman who I am blanking on the name. (Apologies – he did well today!)

We started with some foam roller/lacrosse ball work, went to a 500m row, and then did a little 3 round warm-up:

  • 10 med ball cleans
  • 30 second handstand hold
  • 10 push-ups

Once all that was done, we grabbed an empty barbell for some clean skill work. We worked on that shrug that tends to elude me when the bar gets heavy.

Loaded up some weight and got ready for the workout. I honestly wasn’t sure I could do a 185# clean, but I did then. So I set up for 185# and had weights so I could drop to 165#. They weren’t going to be pretty, but I could do ’em.

As for the handstand push-ups, I focused on strict today. My kipping HSPUs were simply not happening. Some days I can do them and some days I can’t. Today was the latter. So we drew a line in chalk on the wall so we knew how high our heels needed to go, got whatever we needed as far as mats or weights, and got started. I used 2 mats and strict HSPUs as long as I could. πŸ™‚

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-1The workout was Open Workout 15.4:

  • Complete as many reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
  • 3 handstand push-ups
  • 3 cleans
  • 6 handstand push-ups
  • 3 cleans
  • 9 handstand push-ups
  • 3 cleans
  • 12 handstand push-ups
  • 6 cleans
  • 15 handstand push-ups
  • 6 cleans
  • 18 handstand push-ups
  • 6 cleans
  • 21 handstand push-ups
  • 9 cleans
  • Etc., adding 3 reps to the handstand push-up each round, and 3 reps to the clean every 3 rounds.
  • Men clean 185 lb.
  • Women clean 125 lb.

Half of our group did the scaled version with 10 push press and 10 cleans each round. Dan and I did the main workout. And everybody did awesome. It was a tough 8 minutes. πŸ™‚

power-clean-illustrationSo I did:

  • 3 strict HPSUs – 3 185# power cleans
  • 6 strict HSPUs – 3 165# power cleans
  • 9 strict HSPUs – 3 165# power cleans
  • 12 strict HSPUs (broke into 6 + 6) – 6 165# power cleans
  • 2 strict HSPUs, 4 attempts at kipping HSPUs – and that was as far as I got
  • total reps: 48

I’m happy with it even though my cleans looked like crap. πŸ™‚ (Nothing at all like the illustration.)

So we’ll see what tomorrow brings. πŸ™‚ Great work 8:30 and 9:30 classes! Thanks Larry!

Leave a Reply

