Failing Barbell Math

It’s Monday. But I was actually sort of happy to see it after a very full weekend. 🙂

Made it into Continuum for an 8:30 class with Coach Bill. We had a great mix of folks as always – Sarah, Stacie, Brent, Carrie, Jenny, Nic & Nichole.

Started with a looooong warm-up because we only had a 10 minute WOD today. Lots of time to stretch and make sure we were ready for the sprint (not a literal sprint, but a figurative one).  Began with lacrosse ball and foam roller, then progressed to couch stretch, a 500m row, a series with three rounds of 5 push-ups, 7 sit-ups, and 9 good mornings, some work with an empty barbell, and so on.

b04c6ed2970ac4c861a63625f42d9532

By the time we got to the workout itself, we were PLENTY warm.

Today we did a throwback workout from the 2012 CrossFit Open – 12.2.

  • Proceed through the sequence below, completing as many reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
  • 75/45-lb. snatches, 30 reps
  • 135/75-lb. snatches, 30 reps
  • 165/100-lb. snatches, 30 reps
  • 210/120-lb. snatches, as many reps as possible

Apparently Mondays are days for Olympic snatches now. We did a workout with 80 of the suckers last week too.

I wasn’t worried about the 75# snatches, but was worried about the 135# ones. And that’s probably why I completely hosed my barbell math.

1jjubdI pulled out two 15# weights for the 75# snatches and a pair of 45# plates for the 135# snatches, then grabbed four 10# plates. So my workout went:

  • 75# snatches, 30 reps
  • 115# snatches, 25 reps

I thought it was 135# but it was just 75# plus four 10# plates, which is only 115#. Bah.

Oh well. My bad. I thought I was doing pretty well to hit 55# until I realized what I’d actually done when I was cleaning up.

Great work 8:30 class! Lots of weight was flying this morning! Thanks Bill for pushing!

Leave a Reply

