Push It.

Sometimes I wonder what’s going on with my own body when I go to crossfit. It has a mind of its own. The first two workouts this week managed to fry my hamstrings and my forearms. Should I have worked on mobility today instead of trying to push heavy weight?

1jbn7eProbably.

Anyway, I made it in for a Noon class with Coach Drea and a new gal (very nice, chatted with her quite a bit and for the life of me can’t remember her name, but her little tyke’s name was Tucker). We started with some mobility, did a 400m run, and then did a 3 round warm-up WOD…

  • 30 second handstand hold
  • 10 push-ups
  • 30 second hollow body hold

Then we grabbed an empty barbell for a bit of a complex:

  • 5 good mornings
  • 5 back squats
  • 5 strict press
  • 5 straight-leg deadlifts
  • 5 front squats

And then we tackled a bit of a refresher as far as the push press. It felt fine with an empty barbell. 🙂

push-pressAfter that, we moved to the rig for the workout.

  • Push Press: 1-1-1-1-1-1-1

I warmed up with:

  • 95 x5
  • 115 x3
  • 135 x2

And then did some weight. My old 1RM was 195# and I only managed to get 185# up once.

  • 165 x1
  • 185 x1 (ugly)
  • 185 fail
  • 165 x1
  • 175 x1
  • 185 fail
  • 185 fail

So… not my best strength workout. Though my shoulders gave me a little grief, it was all about my forearms and wrists today. I really need to get in there with a lacrosse ball and work some of that out.

Drea also suggested that maybe there’s some way to Rock Tape my forearms to help with the inflammation, so I need to talk to Caleb about that.

Now I have to see how I feel about scaling tomorrow’s hero WOD if I go. 🙂

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

