Ally-oop 80x

Though my weekend was a bit of a bust, my last workout was on Thursday and I knew Monday I’d have to get back into the box. I was not disappointed.

snatch5Arrived about 8:30 and we had a good crew for Coach Drea – me, Sarah, Brent, Carrie, Jenny, Justin, and Andrea. We got started with some jump-rope practice and then did a nice little PVC warm-up:

  • 3 rounds of 20 seconds each:
  • PVC snatches
  • PVC pass-thrus
  • PVC snatch-balance

From there we grabbed an unloaded bar and did some Olympic snatch warm-ups before we added weight and got ready for the workout:

  • 4 rounds for time of:
  • 95/65# (or 65/45# for level 1) power snatches, 20 reps
  • 50 double-unders or 90 seconds of double-under practice or 50 singles

It sounded like the fastest times were around 11-14 minutes. I was not feeling confident I’d be that fast. My goal was to finish. 🙂

isabelStarted with the 90 seconds of double-under practice in the first two rounds and then that devolved into single-unders in the last two rounds. The power snatches were muscle snatches for me – sets of 5 every time except for the last set when my left hand lost grip.

That was a lot spicier than it should have been, but then Brent pointed out that it was like doing Isabel almost 3 times through.

With as challenging as it was to do 95# that many times, I think 135# might have done me in.

Tomorrow will be interesting. Something involving a short metcon with toes-to-bar and it will be Friday-Night-Lights style because there are no classes in the late morning or middle of the day. Nobody wants to see my ugly mug at 5 or 6am either, so we’ll see if we can squeak into a 4:30 workout tomorrow afternoon.

All of this is ahead of the 2017 CrossFit Open, and I have to say I’m starting to get nervous. With my gap in training while I was gone on a business trip, it’s taken a while to get back to where I was before I left. And I’m still not there. I was doing great up to about the last workout before I left and don’t feel like I’m back to that level.

Guess we’ll find out in a few weeks when the Open starts, won’t we?

Great work 8:30 class! Thanks Drea for pushing today!

Leave a Reply

