Sprint This

Yesterday I remarked on how mentally out of it I was despite finishing the workout in a reasonable amount of time. Today not so much.

Still mentally out of it. Simply felt “old” as I headed to the box today, which was ridiculous. Headed in for the 8:30 class with Ev. Coach Drea had the two of us plus Sarah, Carrie, and Jenny. We were a hoot.

silly-walkLots of warm-up for hamstrings and running. Can’t say it helped all that much later.

The workout itself was:

  • 10 rounds, each for time, of:
  • 100-meter sprint
  • Rest 90 seconds

Um yeah. Running in any form is usually not my thing. Sprinting usually ends in disaster. Today wasn’t any different.

I made it through three rounds:

  • 19
  • 20
  • 22

And then I was done with a hamstring pull. I thought it was going to be a calf that gave me grief. Turned out to be my right hamstring which tightened up. And then later on I had a killer sinus headache to boot – which started when I did the 200m jog after we were done.

Essentially, I was a mess. πŸ™‚

Everyone else did great. Ev averaged about 24/25 seconds a run. Jenny, Sarah, and Carrie were averaging about 20 seconds a run I think.

Theories and Observations

7TaonKRbcSo I have a theory. These 100m sprints were done to a 50m mark and back. So you had to decelerate to turn 180 and go back the way you came. I think it’s that deceleration that causes me issues in my calf and hamstrings. I could be wrong, but that seems logical.

I would like to try it again as a series of 100m runs in a straightaway. But not today. πŸ™‚

What amused me was the ride home.

All I could think about was my brief stint on a little league baseball team as a kid and throwing up every day after practice from an asthma attack induced by running on a dusty field. And doing (and hating) suicide sprints on a basketball court during my two seasons of junior high basketball.

I’ve never had a good experience running. Why start now?

Great work 8:30 class!

Leave a Reply

