The Return of Mondays

So it’s been a while since I last wrote anything here. Sorry about that. It’s what happens when you go on a business trip for a week.

But I’m back and starting to get back to the routine. A little. Maybe.

Revenge of Jet Lag

travel-globeI traveled to Berlin, Germany, for a 3-day meeting for work. Left Sunday. Returned Friday.

It’s an 8 hour time difference to Berlin, so they are 8 hours ahead of us. And that really messed with my head. I never really caught up despite trying to sleep my way into a better state of energy and consciousness.

Now after being back a couple of days, I feel like my body is awake. I’m not yawning anyway. But my brain… Wow. It’s definitely not here yet. It’s like walking around in a bit of a fog.

Hopefully that will clear up this week a bit.

Back to Work at the Box

So after not working out in 10 days, it was time to get back to the box and start working on that end again. Headed in for a 9:30 class with Coach Bill. It was me, Lori, Lisa & Nick, Ashley, and another gal whose name I didn’t catch. (Maybe Elizabeth?)

7TaonKRbcAt any rate, we got going and I started to shake off a bit of rust.

We started with a 400m group jog and chatted the whole way. Was good to catch up with Nick a little as we discussed movies we’d been watching lately.

Got back and then did a three round warm-up consisting of:

  • 10 one-armed dumbbell thrusters
  • 10 one-armed dumbbell thrusters (other arm)
  • 10 explosive hip-ups (kind of like part of a roll-to-candlestick)
  • 15 second ring hold (lower position)
  • 15 second ring hold (locked out)

It was actually kind of a doozy of a warm-up, but I’m thinking it was just because I was out of it. 🙂

When that was done we talked about the muscle-up progression we’d be using. It involved the hip-up, a false grip, and starting laying on your back. As Bill put it, we were working on our ninja skills. My ninja seems to be uncoordinated. 🙂

And then we did some thruster warm-ups with an empty barbell before adding some weight. A few shoulder presses. A few front squats. A few thrusters. Add some weight. Do it again.

2013-thrusters-combined

Considering how out of it I felt, I stuck at 95# and stayed there for the duration of the workout:

  • For time:
  • 15-12-9
  • 135/95# thrusters
  • muscle-ups (or muscle-up progressions)

I did:

  • 15-12-9
  • 95# thrusters
  • muscle-up progressions

And it took me a while. 14:50 all together. But I finished, so I’ll take it.

Monday is in the books. Now I should get some work done. Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

