Monday Catch-up

So this weekend was the Girls & Heroes competition over at CrossFit Pick It Up. I had a great time competing with Jonathan. Though we could have done better, I felt like we had fun and I enjoyed cheering on the rest of the gang through the final workout.

But I have to say it knocked me on my butt for about 24 hours. I was out of it. Physically I might have been ok even 12-18 hours afterwards, but thinking straight was at a minimum. And the critical voice inside my head would not shut up.

The Inner Critic

Usually I can silence the inner pain in the butt who tells me I’m not good enough and I shouldn’t bother doing things. If the last 4 years of CrossFit have taught me anything, it’s that I can usually do much more than I give myself credit for.

burdenSaturday night and Sunday morning however I was left wondering why I did it in the first place. I let Jonathan down. I knew I couldn’t do double unders. I was slow and uncoordinated. Blah blah blah.

Thankfully I shut that turkey up by early in the afternoon and just decided to get on with my day.

Will I eventually get double unders figured out? Yes. Did I complete two out of three workouts and do everything I could to get them done as fast as possible? Pretty much. When I started to falter in the 2nd workout, the other teams were already pretty much done so I just slowed down and took it a bit at a time.

And had we worked past the double-unders, I’m pretty sure we would not have made it into the final round anyway. If we had, we wouldn’t have been able to out-lift Shaun & Caleb, but it would have been entertaining to try. πŸ™‚

I just found it interesting that my inner critic had to wait until I was exhausted to emerge. In the past, it wouldn’t have waited.

So I’ll take that as progress and move on. πŸ™‚

Today’s WOD

So though I didn’t do much more than try and recover yesterday, I knew that I couldn’t just let today go by without at least seeing what I could do with the workout. Even if I couldn’t do it as prescribed, I’d scale as best I could and chug through.

silly-walkWell, I scaled a lot. πŸ™‚

Sarah, Stacie, Rich, Jenny, and Amber joined me with Coach Drea. And we did a warm-up from heck…

Our first warm-up was 2 rounds of:

  • 200m run
  • 10 med ball front squats
  • 10 wall balls

Then we grabbed kettle bells or dumbbells and did:

  • 8 left armed front squats
  • 8 left armed push press
  • 8 left armed thrusters
  • 8 right armed front squats
  • 8 right armed push press
  • 8 right armed thrusters

I started with 35# kettle bells because my shoulders and biceps were still pretty sore from Saturday. Well, I had to scale even further from there. I ended up with a 25# kettle bell and that’s where I stayed.

25pound-dumbbellThe issue I discovered with my left arm was not the front rack position or the locked out overhead position, but dropping it back down. I lacked much control there and was clocking my head half the time, not to mention the fact that it was simply not comfortable to lower back to the shoulder. Not sure how far out of place it is, but it ain’t right. πŸ™‚

The workout itself was:

  • For time, fast and heavy:
  • 21 dumbbell thrusters
  • 400m run
  • 18 dumbbell thrusters
  • 400m run
  • 15 dumbbell thrusters
  • 400m run

I ended up doing one-armed thrusters with the 25# kettle bell for most of it. Right arm worked fine for a while. I alternated half and half for the round of 18 and then went back to right arm only for the 15.

As far as the run went, we were running in a stiff wind. Probably 20-30 mile an hour gusts at times. It helped one way and didn’t the other. πŸ™‚ But I ran the first one and then did some jogging and some walking to try and catch my breath.

My time was 13 something – nearly 14 minutes. But I kept moving and that was the important part.

Sounds like tomorrow should be a fun one. And I’ve already booked an appointment with my favorite chiropractor for Wednesday, so we’ll get everything back together before too long.

Great work 8:30 class and I hope everybody did well at 9:30! Thanks Drea!

Leave a Reply

