Hanging Squat Snatches

So on the last day of my little winter vacation, what should I do but go back to the crossfit box for another workout? 🙂

The whole Fitzy clan went in today and we were joined by a fun group of folks under Coach Drea’s watchful eye… Caleb, Jonathan & Sarah, Connie, Stacie, Lisa, and Ashley. Last day of some of their vacations too, so it’ll be a while before we see some of them regularly.

65441789
Shoulders? Flexibility? Bah! 

We started with some mobility… Couch stretch, foam rolling, and then a little three round warm-up involving:

  • 10 PVC passthrus
  • 10 PVC overhead squats at the rack (a new one using the upright bars of the rack as a track that we slid up and down to try and keep our position more upright)
  • 10 PVC snatch balances

All of us were warm, but I know my shoulders were a little crankier after all that. 🙂

Then we grabbed unloaded barbells to work through about 30-40 reps of various parts of the hanging squat snatch. It was a good warm-up, but my grip was starting to get a bit tired by the time we were done.

Overhead-squat-1I worked with Caleb and the two of us warmed up with 65, 75, and 95 pounds to start the workout. Today was:

  • Hang Squat Snatch
  • 1-1-1-1-1-1-1

I did:

  • 95#
  • 95#
  • 115# (hanging power snatch really)
  • 115#
  • 135# (fail)
  • 135# (fail)
  • 115# (fail)

It’s been a while since we’ve done any kind of heavy snatches. The only thing I could find in my notes was an old Hang power snatch note from September 2014 where I hit 95#. My last regular snatch was 145# back in August 2015, so we haven’t done a ton lately.

I felt pretty good overhead at 115# and then got into my head at 135# and just couldn’t crawl out again. My issue for my successful lifts was my foot position. I started wide and got wider – definitely something to work on.

Ev made it to 70#. AJ hit 45# and Mickey hit 55#. Definitely a harder one of the Olympic lifts to master – getting under the bar is a struggle.

But we survived! Thanks for working with me Caleb! And great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

