Open Gym

So the first workout of the year happened to be on an Open Gym day at CrossFit Continuum and another first. I’ve not been into the box on an Open Gym day before, so that was kind of fun. There were people all over doing fun things. Jimmy & Drea, Kelli, Dee, Clare, Brent, Andrew & Ashley, Lisa & Nick, Hillary and her son, and a few others. The place was hopping.

We went in with the girls. They did their own thing – an 8-10 minute WOD they put together themselves. And Ev and I did a modified Annie.

annieAnnie is one of the named “girls” workouts for time –

  • 50-40-30-20-10 reps for time of
    • double-unders
    • sit-ups

We did:

  • 100-80-60-40-20 reps for time of
    • single-unders
    • sit-ups
  • with a 1000m row at the end of each round

So it was Annie + a 5k row. My wife came up with it and about 3 rounds in I was wondering why I said “sure” when she asked if I wanted to do it with her. ๐Ÿ™‚

rowboatShe did it in about 40 minutes. I did it in a bit more than 45. My row times got consecutively slower – I started in about 4 minutes and by the last round was over 5 and closing on 6 minutes.

My biggest issue was my grip on my right hand. My right forearm blew up and turned into a rock pretty quickly between gripping the jump rope handle and pulling on the rower. By the end even Drea was like “yeah, you need to ice that and roll it out.” Guess I’ll be working on that over the next couple of hours. ๐Ÿ™‚

That said, I don’t think 45 minutes was too bad. We weren’t exactly pushing for time – just pushing to finish – and I was ok with that.

Plus it was fun to see everybody! Happy 2017!

Leave a Reply

