Wrist wraps are awesome

Hello Friday my old friend. I’ve come to WOD with you again. 🙂

I usually skip Fridays because they’re Hero WODs and are killer. While on vacation I set some goals, one of which being attending a workout every day it was possible to do so. And I’ve pretty much done that. So why stop now?

It was just me from the Fitzy clan today. Ev was working and the girls slept in. Coach Drea had a slightly smaller class at 8:30 than the rest of the week… Connie, Tionne, Stacie, Brianne, Jonathan, Sarah, Todd, Melissa, and Greg. A fun group. 🙂

Warm-up

We started with a 500m row (or 2 minutes on the Devil’s Tricycle) and then did a little three round warm-up:

  • 30 second handstand hold
  • 10 push-ups
  • 10 goblet squats (light kettle bell)

I knew there were handstand push-ups in today’s workout and I was not enthused. Both my wrists hurt a lot and it made everything but goblet squats much more difficult than it should have been.

As we talked about the workout after the warm-up, I grabbed my Handband Pros to use as wrist wraps and that made a huge difference during the workout itself.

From there we did some refreshers on the dumbbell hang clean and quickly began figuring out the weights we wanted to do. I really wanted to do 15# dumbbells but went with 35# kettle bells instead. 🙂

Workout

The workout? Nick. (Here’s a great post showing it in action over at WODWell…)

Nick as written is 12 rounds for time of:

  • 45/25-lb. dumbbell hang squat cleans, 10 reps
  • 6 handstand push-ups on dumbbells (deficit handstand push-ups)

Yeah. I tried lifting 45# dumbbells and quickly decided that wasn’t happening. The 35# kettle bells were plenty heavy. And I am still working on regular handstand push-ups, let alone deficits – so I scaled there too. And… after only a few rounds my shoulders and biceps were burning so I decided I’d only go through 8 rounds instead of 10 (level II) or 12 (Rx).

kettlebells

So my workout… 8 rounds for time of:

  • 35# kettle bell hang squat cleans, 10 reps
  • 6 handstand push-ups (alternated rounds doing either strict or kipping)

After 2 rounds, I was ready to be done. It took me a long time to actually get done.

It took me 33:56 to complete 8 rounds with my modifications. And without wrist wraps I don’t think I would have completed a single round. Thank you wrist wraps.

Other folks kicked butt with Rx weights through 10 or 12 rounds. I’m happy for them. That’s the beauty of crossfit — I’m not competing against them.

Now… tomorrow? Tomorrow will be a team workout where I may want to die at 10am. Huzzah. 🙂

Great work everybody! Y’all killed it whether you went light or heavy. That was a doozy.

Leave a Reply

