First post-Christmas WOD

So I’ll be up front and say that a) I’ve not been eating (or drinking) clean and b) I’ve gained about 5 pounds over the holiday. And c) I felt a bit ill and sore this morning when I woke up. Of course that meant d) I had to go to the box to start getting back in the swing of things.

kettlebell-swingI went with Ev & AJ to the 8:30 class and it was packed. I think we had 16 people for Coach Bill and Coach Larry to divide and conquer on.

Todd & Melissa, Andrea, John, Brianne, Maria, and a mess of other folks were there.

We started with a 250m row, then did 5 rounds of 20 seconds each at:

  • light kettle bells
  • jumping jacks
  • hollow body rocks

By that point we were all pretty warm to start practicing some one-armed kettlebell snatches. I really wanted to go with 35# KBs but Bill pushed me to 45# though the Rx was 53#.

climbing-rope-atje23--853-pThe workout was 5 rounds for time —

  • 12 left-arm kettlebell snatches, 53/35#
  • 12 right-arm kettlebell snatches, 53/35#
  • 15-ft. rope climbs, 3 ascents
  • 250-m row
  • Rest 3 minutes

I need to work on my rope climbs, but with so many people today that simply wasn’t going to happen. So I essentially laid on my back on the floor and pulled myself hand over hand up to a standing position, then lowered myself down. We had three ropes to do that with today. And we had a towel over the rig bar we could use for a towel pull-up, which I did for one round.

I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to do anything this morning with as rough as I felt when I got up. Sleeping funny on my right side somehow messed up my neck and right shoulder. I did about about 30-45 minutes of mobility after getting up and before we ever left for crossfit.

But going through the warm-up and the WOD seems to have loosened things up again, so that’s a good thing.

With my progressions it took me about 33:03 (figuring in the 15 minutes of rest) to get through it all. I did the assault bike for 1 minute instead of rowing a couple of times and that was awful, as always.

But AJ did great – she made it up the rope three times during the workout. And Andrea did a few rope climbs all the way to the top as well. It was a great group doing amazing things, as always. 🙂

Now I’m tired and it’s time to get on with the rest of the day. 🙂 Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

